Swiss Chard and Pecan Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I think this was a great recipe. We toasted the pecans first though. and instead of sauteeing, we blanched the basil and swiss chard so it would retain a brighter color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and found that it needed more olive oil - mine came out a little too thick at first. But other than that, it is a perfect recipe! It tastes wonderful and swiss chard is so good for you! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Very explosive flavor - I added an additional clove of garlic and used pecorino romano cheese and used some of the pasta water to mix it with the pasta. I also sauteed the stems of the swiss chard first until they were softened before adding the leaves. I like their bitter flavor. It was aboslutely outstanding. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great with walnuts too if you don't have pecans on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Not as good as traditional pesto but a good way to use up Swiss Chard from my garden. I was going to give 3 stars but didn't have pecans so used walnuts so wanted to be fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Nice way to use up extra chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
That was really YUMMY! Thankyou so much for sharing. My kids really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is the perfect recipe for my family. Hubby and I both enjoy the flavor of chard, but don't like the texture of cooked greens. I've made quite a few delicious chard recipes, but all had that "slimy" texture, so neither of us were excited about eating any of them despite the good taste. This recipe eliminates the texture problem. I love basil pesto; hubby thinks it is only so-so. He likes this chard-basil pesto better than regular. This is my new go-to recipe every time I get chard in the CSA box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGRBTRFLY
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This is so good we can it by itself! I doubled the recipe so I could freeze and save some and added a whole half of lemon (the rind is the best part!) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Hands down this is my kids' favorite thing I make. Great on pasta, pizza, or garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States