Swiss-Barley Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This soup is ridiculously good! I use regular barley instead of quick barley and vegetable bouillon instead of chicken. The regular barley takes a little longer, but soup always benefits from being cooked longer anyways. I've never bothered to stir continuously like the recipe says to. The barley does clump on the bottom, but it breaks up easily the next time you stir it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've made this soup twice and really enjoyed it. The 1st time I made it exactly as written, except I cooked regular pearl barley seperately and added it to the soup. It was fab; rich and filling; not your ordinary mushroom soup! The 2ncd time I made it with olive oil insteand of butter, low-fat cheese & 2% milk. when compared to the original it was not as rich, BUT it was still very satisfactory & much healthier. Will definetely make it w/the healthier options again. thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Barley seemed out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Turned out great. Next time I'm going to experiment with different cheese and maybe sour dough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesageroma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Great for cold winter days but equally enjoyable during the warmer months. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very good, I added some celery and garlic to the onion and mushroom mixture. I also only had regular barley (pearl), so I added 2 cups of water while that was cooking to have enought liquid for it to absorb and used 4 tsp. of chicken base (I don't have bouillon) just in case the 2 cups of water wasn't fully absorbed. Overall, very delicous.... my husband really enjoyed it. TIP: stir constantly while the barley is cooking or it will burn to the bottom of your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
OMGosh, this is so wonderful! I found that it took a lot longer to cook than what was stated. Oh so worth it, though! I used Jarlsberg cheese, which is a milder swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used 1 % milk and added 1 tsp dried chervil and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Nutmeg is a traditional spice used in mushroom soup. Next time I will mince the onion finely. It was a bit chunky. I thought the soup turned out well; thick, creamy and delicious. Probably quite fattening though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I'm trying to cut back on my carbs and fat plus add a little more veggies in my diet. I didn't use the whole amount of butter, just two tbsp and I used a tbsp. of EVOO along with it to keep the butter from scorching. Instead of plain water, I used Campbell's FF/low salt chicken broth and I used about a cup and a half of Skim Supreme milk thickened up with 1 tbsp. cornstarch instead of the full amount of flour and milk. I also used 2% swiss, stirring it in a little at a time. I'm running low on pantry items so I used one box of Uncle Ben's brown rice that I cooked seperate, then added in at the last. With the onion and mushrooms, I threw in four chopped cloves of garlic, two peppers and about a generous half cup of chopped carrots. It was a nice addition. It wasn't my intent to completely change this recipe, but making it a little heart friendly never hurt anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States