Sweetheart Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Love this recipe! Omit the sugar for delicious biscuits; add whole wheat flour in place of half of the white flour for a healthier alternative and they still taste wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannonM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were some really good scones, I can't compare them to any other scones since I generally don't have scones, but these were delicous! I really enjoyed cooking them to, it was really fun. Overall, a great recipe to try, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I must say- I found these to be very disappointing. I made the recipe exactly as stated and found these to be too dense, chewy and not as light as I would have liked. They need the jam for flavor- the dough itself is pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My husband said this was one of the tastiest recipes I've made. Rather than jam, i put in dried craisins--I dont know how much as I eyeballed it. I also had to add a tiny splash extra of buttermilk since my dough was a litttle to dry to stay together (bcs i live at altitude?). They turned out perfect. any dried fruit you like would be good. i put them in the dry mix before the buttermilk went in. 5 stars from him, 4 stars from me. Great balance of slighty sweet and salty, fluffy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
A nice and light tasting scone! I was looking for a recipe to use up some extra buttermilk and this was a good one. I cut mine into wedges since I didn't have a heart shaped cookie cutter and then I spread boysenberry jam in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made these for Valentines day with my British friend (in picture). She says they taste just like her Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent scones. Not tough, just the right mixture of soft and flaky inside, crisp outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGERINA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very good, used recipe as written, good scone dough to work with. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States