Sweetheart Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I wasn't going to pay for unflavored gelatin so I used cherry jello. It was a little over powering. Other than that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made this and was asked to make two dishes the next time! I suggest adding a bit of the jello mixture to the cream cheese to break up the cream cheese before adding it to the mixture. I think that will make it easier to stir the cream cheese in thoroughly. This is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Great jello-wonderful served with BBQ. It was a hit with the kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Reminded me of something my grandmother used to make for all of our family gatherings. Hers was fluffier, so she probably didn't use gelatin & I'm pretty sure she used cottage cheese somehow, but the flavor was very close. Brought back some good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe has also been our family for years! Grandma use to make it for Thanksgiving. I double the recipe because it is so good, it is put on our dessert table. It is wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My mother also made this recipe - in the 60's - only for Christmas. She called it "Christmas Salad." I'd lost the recipe in a move 10 years ago..but found it here today! She also made a creamy sort of dressing that was a bit tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My mother had made this dessert a family tradition at Thanksgiving and I called her every year I wasn't with her, to get the recipe. We lost her last Christmas and I miss giving her that phone call, but I am very happy to see it posted here. The only differences that I do are that I add the cherry juice to the cream cheese to help mash it up and I have experimented and added mandarin oranges too. Thanks again for posting this. Happy Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
We had this at a wedding reception in 1980. It was so nice it has become a part of our Christmas meal. Post Katrina my recipe binder was lost. Now, preparing for our first family gathering for Thanksgiving, I asked relatives if anyone had a "gotta have" item for dinner. The green bean casserole was a hot item but it was second to the Sweetheart Salad. I was grateful for finding it on this site! (All this time I thought it was my mother-in-law's! lol) This makes a pretty presentation, especially if served in a pretty glass bowl. We serve in dessert dishes. For the last ten years or so I've used the low fat whipped topping and cream cheese and no one has noticed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
My aunt made this recipe sometime in the early 60's for Thanksgiving. It has been on our Thanksgiving table every year since! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States