Sweetheart Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I just made these for Valentine's Day on Saturday and they were very cute and tasty! I've only rated the recipes 4 stars, however, because there was not enough batter for 24 cupcakes! Because I had already filled 24 liners 1/3 full with batter, I ended up with 5 or 6 seriously small cupcakes. I think if I make it again I will aim for a count of 18, which is more realistic after having made the recipel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These are easy, fun and impressive! Made these for the first time this weekend and brought them to a party at work, to rave reviews. I recommend topping with "Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting" recipe from this site. Half the frosting recipe was the perfect amount. I tinted the frosting pink and also used the raspberry candy oil to flavor. Fun and delicious, can't wait to come up with another flavor for our next party. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Excellent idea even if you do use a box mix as many of us do from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
What a delightful surprise these little treats contain! Very little effort from the baker but yields great rewards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmohamed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
So good. The cake is so fluffy and a nice switch up from eating chocolate cupcakes. I am planning to use egg whites from now on when making cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I enjoyed doing this technique. Will continue to experiment with other colours. Happy Valentines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was a really fun cupcake to make. I need some more practice because I didn't get the two color effect. I will keep trying though until I get it right. I was actually proud of myself for getting at least one color in place. I thought for sure I'd mix it and come out with a one color (light pink) cupcake. A fun project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Nice! I kinda felt it was a lot of work and the colouring wasn't that great...maybe I need to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Fun! This is a recipe that definitely needs some practice to master. I didn't do too bad for my first attempt. I did run out of the pink and red batters, and ended up with some plain cupcakes. So be sure to not add too much of the white batter to the cups. I used my 1.5 Tbsp. cookie scoop to measure out the white batter, and ended up adding some extra to each cup - I shouldn't have added the extra! Live and learn. I didn't have raspberry candy oil, so I added 1 tsp. raspberry flavoring. I frosted them with Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting from this site and added 1 tsp. raspberry flavoring to that too. What a beautiful, yummy treat for my hubby this Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were delicious and my roommates all loved them. I liked that the recipe called for egg whites instead of whole eggs, it made it seem a bit healthier... I couldn't find raspberry candy oil so I ended up using almond extract instead. It gave them a nice amaretto taste (but now I have to worry that friends are secretly allergic to nuts...) I'd give it five stars but I ran out of batter before I could finish the layers, like some other reviewers said. I also had to cook them for a bit longer. The combination of these two problems makes me wonder if I just made larger cupcakes than the original person did. I'll definitely make them again, I'm thinking chocolate cake and white cake with green food dye and peppermint oil for grasshopper cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyScherbatsky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States