Sweetheart Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made these for my son's Sunday school class and they loved them, even the teachers raved. What's great about these is I use them year round by alternating the colors. Really creative idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denisse2090
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Best cupcakes ever! Made a light blue version for my cousin's Baby Shower. Everyone got a pleasant surprise when they took a first bite. I just filled the tinted batter into snack sized ziplocs and made a small hole to fill the inside of the cupcakes. Only fill 1/2 way with the light batter and then fill the rest with the tinted colors. These will grow, so do not overfill!! I couldn't find the candy oil so I just added a bit of vanilla extract. Keep a close eye on them, in my oven they took a little less than recommended. Do not let them brown or crack, since that means they are overdone. They are delicious and very light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse2090

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
CLEVER!! Family is coming to visit and I knew the grandchildren would love these. They are very festive for our 4th of July celebration. Thanks Celeste for sharing such a clever technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by kjstrom
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These cupcakes are so cute, fun and very easy to make. I couldn't find the flavored oil at any of my local grocery or craft stores, so following other reviewers' advice, I just added cherry flavored extract. What a waste: you couldn't even tell it was there. And I added a lot! I used a pastry bag and tip to make sure I got the colored batter all the way to the bottom. I iced them with "Wedding Cake Frosting" from this site using the colored swirl technique that Celeste described. They came out looking like they came straight from the bakery. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Easy and delicious! I make them with a chocolate outside and raspberry inside with buttercream icing.. MMmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRubia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Awesome tip for making VERY impressive cupcakes! I only used two flavors (chocolate and vanilla) and took them to work. Everyone kept coming up to my desk with a "How'd you DO it?!" Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This made sort of layers for me rather than the pretty pattern others got -- I probably didn't press the tip down far enough. I have an actual piping tip that would work great for this, and I'll use that next time. Thank you for sharing! (P.S. I used this method with AR's "White Almond Wedding Cake" and liked the flavor of the cake. I do NOT like the flavor of Wilton's "leaf green" food coloring, blech, FYI. It didn't ruin my cakes but it's pretty noticeable -- just a tip for others who might want to use that color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
So cute, just one thing, my cupcakes shrivled up a bit and the tops were very cracked. This wouldn't stop me from making them again though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Pâtisserie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
great! I made these for a gender reveal party when I was pregnant. Instead of red food coloring I used BLUE since I was having a baby boy. It was a huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved this idea, and it was super easy to do. Followed others tips on making sure you push the tip of the bag to the bottom. These turned out super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States