Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I did this and it works GREAT but you have to keep it on LOW and let it cook...I did some in the microwave with just 1 cup of regular evaporated milk too (instead of the powdered milk)which is MUCH EASIER !! I cooked it in a LARGE bowl for 15 minutes on 50% power, stirring it every 5 minutes. Be careful when you stir it tho cos it bubbles up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I am rating this based on my first attempt. The second is on the stove right now. If you make this recipe, you need to use a double boiler. If the milk and sugar are exposed to direct heat, they WILL burn/caramelize onto the bottom of your pan, no matter how constantly you stir. If you don't have a double boiler, you can improvise one: lay a (metal!) cooling rack along the inside of a large frying pan; it should be able to lie flat on the bottom. Fill the frying pan about 2/3 - 3/4 full with hot water from the tap (hot makes boiling go quicker). Put your saucepan on top of the cooling rack; an inch or so should be submerged in the water. Make sure that when the saucepan goes in the water it doesn't displace so much that the water will splash out once it boils! Now turn on the heat and once your water boils, the saucepan's contents will be exposed to only the temperature of boiling water (not direct heat), which is the point of a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikayla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I needed 7oz so I used 1/2 C Powdered Milk, 1/4 C Water (mixed together) then added to a double broiler along with 1/2 C Sugar (used Whey Low b/c my husband is a diabetic). Continued to stir for 15 min. Made great Sweetened Condensed Milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Yes, the directions are lacking. But the finished product is great. If you don't know, constant stirring is a must. I also wouldn't let it full on boil; the stirring should help eliminate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made this sweetened condensed milk tonight when I was craving a cinnamon latte, and really didn't want to make that trip to Starbucks. This worked out great! Very easy and a lot less expensive than buying the can. I'm not sure if I will ever buy a can of it again because of how quick this recipe for it is, it would be silly not to make it instead. I didn't have the problem of this burning like some others, but I just made sure I stirred it constantly until it was thickened. Oh, and my latte turned out fabulous! Thanks for the recipe, Jeannie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
First, I tried this with splenda thanks to HotGrandma, who threw down the gantlet. this did not work, the result was grainy and would not smooth out. I then tried it with regular sugar. It was still grainy even tho I combined the dry milk and water before I heated it up. I accidentally burned it a bit. I sorta salvaged it by running it throw a sieve. I will use it for oatmeal next week. sorry, could not make this work out for me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Thank you for the recipe. My hubby is a diabetic and I am constantly searching for recipes I can convert using a non sugar sub., There are many recipes out there but you have to find how to convert the components like condensed milk so that you can make it for a diabetic to eat. Thank you for providing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This worked well in place of the canned I didn't have and saved me a trip out in the rain. I used a double boiler to prevent the burning issues, but was never able to bring the mix to a boil. It still cooked down and turned out fine. Learned hard way that canned milk is not 14 fluuid ounces and used too much of this in the recipe I was making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe is also easy to adapt for people who are diabetic. Just substitute 3/4 of Splenda for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
One reviewer said this burned while cooking and, even though I stirred it constantly while it cooked, it definitely burned for me too. I made a second batch in the microwave oven and timed and watched it very carefully so it wouldn't boil over. I zapped for 1 min., stirred zapped for 30 seconds, twice, stirred, then continued to zap until it boiled almost to the rim for 15 seconds. I did this for 5 times, stirring after each. Finally, I put it into my Bullet and blended it for about 50 seconds till it was totally smooth and exactly like the canned version. I'll make it this way from now on - it tastes like what I always bought before but is much cheaper to make. It actually takes less time to make it this way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States