Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Can you use skim powdered milk? Answered myself and yes you can :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gran~mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It really saved my behind with a last minute dessert recipe before a dinner party! It works better than any other recipe for this I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Hannah Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Tastes better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a few years and love it. I always have powdered milk on hand so it's easy to whip up and it tastes just like the canned. I'll never buy canned again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I've used this successfully in baked desserts since about 1970, when I first saw it in Heloise. Adjust this recipe to 24 servings and it will make 14 oz., and it works out to level 1/4, 1/2 and 1 cup ingredient amounts (as I think may be already be posted in another SCM recipe on AR). I like to completely dissolve the butter and sugar in hot water first in the MW, then mix in the powdered milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I whisked the powdered milk and sugar together first, then added the boiling water with softened butter and 1 tsp of vanilla. I used my immersion blender to mix it up and it was perfectly creamy with no texture issues at all. I used it to make granola bars and it worked great! Next time I'll try honey or agave in place of the sugar and some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great recipe taste exactly like store bought condensed milk..but only makes 1 1/4 cups not 2 cups like its says on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was wonderful. My only mistake was using low fat instant powdered milk. The flavour just wasn't full enough for me. So the next time I make this... and there will be a next time, I will make sure that the instant milk is whole milk. I won't use can any more. I will definitely pass this one on :^) Norma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Wow! I was a little worried after read some of the reviews, but I can honestly say I will NEVER buy canned SCM again! Not only is this such an easy recipe, but it tastes SO much better than the canned stuff! I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and I put the liquid ingredients in my mini blender before the dry ones, because several reiviews said that would be helpful! It turned out to be the perfect consistancy and tasted amazing! Some people said theirs turned out gritty from the powdered milk, but I think it depends on the brand of powdered milk you use. I have always used the store brand because of the expense, but I recently bought some from www.providentliving.org for my food storage and it was WAY better. It was very refined and powdered, whereas the store brands did tend to be more granulated. I think it made a huge difference in the way it turned out! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pewee Valley, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States