Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
i made mine using my stand mixer and whisks on high speed until it was smooth - it turned out perfect - without any crystals from the powdered milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made this recipe using Stevia. I was wondering how people get so many cups out of this until I remembered that Stevia weighs/has less volume than sugar. Change the recipe to 22 servings, like another user said, and it will be a 14oz can of SCM; HOWEVER, it will only weigh about 8-1/4oz because of the Stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elke Royal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It really saved my behind with a last minute dessert recipe before a dinner party! It works better than any other recipe for this I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Hannah Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Tastes better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a few years and love it. I always have powdered milk on hand so it's easy to whip up and it tastes just like the canned. I'll never buy canned again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I've used this successfully in baked desserts since about 1970, when I first saw it in Heloise. Adjust this recipe to 24 servings and it will make 14 oz., and it works out to level 1/4, 1/2 and 1 cup ingredient amounts (as I think may be already be posted in another SCM recipe on AR). I like to completely dissolve the butter and sugar in hot water first in the MW, then mix in the powdered milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I whisked the powdered milk and sugar together first, then added the boiling water with softened butter and 1 tsp of vanilla. I used my immersion blender to mix it up and it was perfectly creamy with no texture issues at all. I used it to make granola bars and it worked great! Next time I'll try honey or agave in place of the sugar and some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Great recipe taste exactly like store bought condensed milk..but only makes 1 1/4 cups not 2 cups like its says on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was wonderful. My only mistake was using low fat instant powdered milk. The flavour just wasn't full enough for me. So the next time I make this... and there will be a next time, I will make sure that the instant milk is whole milk. I won't use can any more. I will definitely pass this one on :^) Norma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States