Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hazel Bennethum
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
It was good but way too sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar to 4 cups. I will also substitute apple cider vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel Bennethum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This recipe is great. We love it so much that I won't buy store bought again!! It is great on hamburgers, hot dogs and anything else you use relish for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Love it! This was my first time making any type of relish. Making more tomorrow....enough to share with friends next summer at the lake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is close to zucchini syrup! I'm new to canning, so I trusted the "6 cups of sugar". Meanwhile my gut was asking me "are you making candy or something?". Unless your household is filled with sugar addicts, this recipe is way too sweet. I think I will have to rinse mine before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wonderful, wonderful recipe! Made 10 half-pint jars yesterday. Following tips from others I cut the sugar down to 2-1/2 cups. It was still a tad too sweet but absolutely delicious. Will cut sugar by 1/4 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe for a relish my mother used to make. My dad loved to plant gobs and so we were always looking for a way to use them. I agree 6 C sugar is waaaaay too much. Am making it again and will halve the sugar. Also left out the peppers as I'd forgotten to buy them. I have friends who are allergic. It's no great loss to the overall taste. Subbing in cider vinegar also will add complexity to flavor. Glad to have the suggestion about the ice cubes and 4-6 hrs chill instead of overnight. I need to make something all at once when I have a sliver of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allie B
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I had to modify this recipe some because of food allergies. Omitted green and red peppers and added Anaheim peppers and pimientos. I did this last year and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Really like the taste of this relish. Only got 5-1/2 pts. so next time I will increase ingredients slightly. Made a couple changes, only added 2-1/2c sugar and used 2-1/2c apple cider vinegar. Also added 1/2 tsp. of dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My mother made zucchini relish when I was growing up and unfortunately she is not here to pass it on. Used this recipe and it is just like I remember. Excellent taste! Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smitchak
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
With my food processor this was embarrassingly easy to make! My first time water bath canning, 2jars didn't seal but they taste so good we'll be eating them soon. Better to leave a 1/2 inch of head space in the jars. I did use half apple cider vinegar and half white since that's what I had on hand, and used only 2cups of sugar. Red & yellow peppers, no green. Very forgiving recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States