Sweet Washington Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! Don't need to change a thing. At first I thought only 2 cups of fruit would not be enough, since other fruit pie recipes call for 4 cups of fruit, but this is perfect. Because the cherries are sweet and hold their shape, more is unnecessary and would probably just be too much of a good sweet thing. I baked mine for 25 minutes at 425 degrees, and then another 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Then the crust doesn't over-brown. Thank-you so much for a wonderful summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is perfect cherry pie. I invested in a cherry pitter recently and it made the task of pitting the cherries so much easier. I'm happy to have it on hand for cherry season. I used closer to 3 cups of pitted cherries to fill my deep dish pie pan. I made this pie for the 4th of July. With cherry or berry pies, I always try to bake them the day before and let them sit to settle and solidify. It seems they are always best if they have time to sit before you cut into them. The texture and flavor of this filling is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Photo by LITTLETURTLE30
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was an awesome pie, I used 2 bags of frozen dark sweet cherries (defrosted) and just drained the juice into a measuring cup and bulked it up with cranberry juice(I did not have cherry juice, and it only needed a little bit). I brushed the top crust with some beaten egg and sprinkled it with sugar too. Everybody raved about this pie! It was so pretty, we took a picture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefathome
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I had fresh sweet cherries and this is one of the few cherry pie recipes that don't use sour cherries or canned cherries. Like another reviewer, I also doubled the cherries to about 4 cups. I omitted the cherry juice because I was pretty sure the filling would be juicy enough and it was (besides, I didn't have cherry juice on hand). I ended up using 4 cups cherries, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar, 1/3 cup flour, and some almond extract. No juice and no butter in the filling. I used a 9 inch pie plate like the recipe called for, and it makes more like 10 or 12 servings, not 6. However, it turned out fantastic, and with these amendments, it will earn a permanent spot in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Everyone loved this pie. Like others, I also used 4 cups of cherries. I kept the sugars and flour the same, doubled the almond extract, added a little cinnamon, and added just enough water to dissolve the sugars instead of the juice. I baked in a lattice top crust with cinnamon and sugar sprinkled over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe when you have FRESH cherries, not the canned variety. The only substitution I made was using Amaretto in place of the cherry juice and extract. And I used closer to 4 cups of freshly pitted dark sweet cherries. Using a Cherry Pitter from Cherrystop.com made short work of the pitting process. I also used my favorite pie crust recipe with the lard and butter. This is the first Cherry Pie that I LOVED! The others are way too tart and runny for my palate. Have made this recipe twice in one week...and I would highly recommend it, especially when fresh cherries are in season and affordable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I was so happy to find this recipe because most cherry pie recipes out there are for sour cherries and my 6 trees are various types of sweet cherries. I'm not sure if it's that my cherries are sweeter than average or people like their pies increadibly sweet but with my 1st pie using this recipe I found it almost too sweet to eat and most of the pie went untouched. My second time using this recipe I halved the amount of each of the sugars and it was perfect. I did use about 1/4 tsp of ground cinnamon in each pie and on my second pie I used a mix of cornstarch and flour, just a personal preference. With the adjustment in sugar and the mixture of thickners this recipe is earning a permanent spot in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Loved the flavor, but it was a little to runny...I will try to thicken it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was perfect for a bag of frozen cherries and a roll of crust in back of the fridge. And a keeper, Thanks Jill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I ran out of fresh cherries, so I added a handful of sliced plums. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommysnagpants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States