Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Very yummy, easy, and creative recipe. Even those who are not crazy about onions enjoyed it. This is delicious but it is obvious why- it is SOOO buttery. I had to double the crust to have enough. Definitely a special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is a simple recipe but the results are fabulous. I made the pie for a group picnic and it was a hit. I used Ritz crackers which were easily made in to crumbs in my Cuisinart. We don't get Vidalia onions up this way so I used Walla Walla sweets with excellent results. The pie had a mild onion flavor and was a perfect accompaniment to grilled meat. Non onion lovers enjoyed it as well. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I was a little worried that there weren't enough eggs and that it would be dry, but it turned out perfect. Like other reviewers, I also added more cheese to the top. This was a big hit with my 2 year old, my 7 year old and my 31 year old husband. We had it as a side dish, but it would also make a great breakfast quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
OMG! This was awsome! My friend just called to tell me a THIRD time how good this was. This will definetly be a tradition as soon as the vidalia's come in season. I used wheat townhouse crackers and it turned out wonderful. Thanks for a GREAT recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was the greatest recipe, thanks for posting! I added more cheese on top and let it cook a little longer than suggested to brown the cheese and it was wonderful! My husband and I loved it. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was easy to assemble and quite good. I didn't mix the cheese in with the egg and cream mixture. I layed it on top after I spread the mixture onto the crust. My wife said it was gourmet! Garnished it with salsa and snipped chives. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Sorry did not like this recipe. My dad and husband said it was OK...but would not be something they would ask for again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Very rich, but good. Added 1/2 cup shredded Gruyere cheese and 1/2 tsp thyme to egg mixture. Also, increased the cheddar cheese to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Like reviewer, Wilemon, I added 1/2c cheese to egg mixture, and 1/2c to top of pie. And as Cookin'mama recommended, next time I would reduce the butter in the crust as it was a bit greasy. All in all, it was good. Very rich though; richer than what we are used to eating. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was very good but I knew 1/4 cup of cheese would not be enough for our taste so I added 1/2 cup to the egg mixture and also used 1/2 cup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States