Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Not a vidalia onion season has gone by without being asked to make it several times. I am always asked for the recipe. I only use 4 Tablespoons of butter in the crust (saltines do not work, you must use Ritz type crackers). I use whole milk instead of half and half, but nonfat or lowfat milks don't cut it. Topped with about a cup of cheese, this pie is an awesome side for grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This makes a delicious & easy side dish and substitutions work well. I used a variety of left over crackers and a mix of swiss and asiago cheeses. I also added thyme but any of your favorite herbs would work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We all love this recipe. I have made it for the last 7 Christmases, once I got the recipe out of my mother-in-law : ) Hers was very specific stating 52 ritz crackers and if Vidalia Onions aren't in season, add sugar to the onions while sauteing them. I am a big fan of sweetening the onions, so do it even when the Vidalia onions are in season. I also make it 1-2 days ahead and just reheat the day of, to free oven space (the microwave even works...gasp!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Very good recipe. In the future, I think I'll use crescent rolls as the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
So yummy - definitely a "treat" recipe though! I cut down on the fat and added to the cheesiness a little by using a pottle of low-fat cottage cheese instead of half n half; I whizzed it in the blender with the eggs and cheese to make a smooth custard. Excellent as a wedge served with crispy crunchy salad for a vegetarian meal, or with crisp bacon and salad for meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Like reviewer, Wilemon, I added 1/2c cheese to egg mixture, and 1/2c to top of pie. And as Cookin'mama recommended, next time I would reduce the butter in the crust as it was a bit greasy. All in all, it was good. Very rich though; richer than what we are used to eating. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Wow was this great! Not 'oniony' at all, although my 7 year old was still turned off by seeing them there. I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I added mushrooms and a small tomato. It passes my versatility test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Easy and very tasty. I would have liked the crust to be a little crispier. Maybe I'll try baking it for 10 minutes first the next time I make this. A great complement to burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Amazing! I used heavy cream instead of half and half because it is what i had on hand. Otherwise I did it exactly! It is so goooood! I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was very good but I knew 1/4 cup of cheese would not be enough for our taste so I added 1/2 cup to the egg mixture and also used 1/2 cup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States