Sweet Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Well, today's the last day before I break down my kitchen & pack it for my move to Chesapeake Beach, Md. Having lived in Arizona for the last 6 years, what a culture shock THAT will be !!! So, I looked at my poor dwindled cupboards & said hmmm, I wonder what I can scrounge up. Small amount of taco seasoning - A/R recipe, salsa & canned chillies, corn, olives, corn meal, pkg. bread sticks, can of tuna, some grated Cheddar, spices, an onion, and a few others that said "childhood favorite - Tamale Pie!!! A/R recipe says "Sweet Tamale pie" & I was in business!!! SO, here I sit, replete, (I can't believe I ate the whole thing!), having enjoyed the INCREDIBLE dinner this was!! The recipe didn't call for olives, like my Mother used to do, & since they weren't on the recipe, I didn't add them in. Next time I will, but when I intend to review a recipe, I try to be a purist the first go around. However, if they weren't a "part of the memory" addition, I wouldn't bother! Very few times in my experience, is a recipe exactly like I love it, & totally without need for changes, but THIS one IS!!! VERY nice work "bcummings221"!!!!!! And, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family loved this. You could add things to this if you wanted, but it's good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this last night for New Year's Eve and it is delicious. After reading all the great reviews I decided to give it a try. It is going to be my go to recipe for pot lucks from now on. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this using a can of Rotel mild tomatoes, one jar of my homemade salsa, a can of corn and a couple of tablespoons of my taco seasoning mix. I used some green onions in the cornbread topping and no cheese. I thought it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A very good fast and easy supper. Thanks. Try it you will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Got to try this from the original cook! It was fantastic! It's going to be my potluck choice from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Fantastic! I took a a chance on this recipe because it was not widely rated, but the result is very flavorful and appealing to a crowd. I did replace the hot salsa with chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce because I like the deep flavor it gives beef recipes. And my tomato and corn products were not "Mexican" flavored, just tomatoes and corn. As always in our family, I used for the beef: elk, venison, or extra lean free range beef. I doubled the recipe and froze one (cooked) for later, but I didn't entirely double the cornbread portion so the meat to bread ratio was more to our liking. This is my first tamale pie attempt and this will be my recipe for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it! When it was done baking, I pulled it out of the oven and added French fried onions and a layer of the shredded cheese on top, then popped it back in the oven until the cheese melted. YUM! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
A far cry from Mexican tamales but a fantastic one-dish family meal. For the meat mixture, closely followed the recipe other than omitting the olive oil and using Taco Seasoning I from this site rather than store bought. Elected to use the HERDEZ® Mexican Cornbread recipe from this site since the Krusteaz® Honey Corn Bread Mix suggested by the recipe submitter was not available at local grocery stores and we prefer cornbread made from scratch. However, if the Krusteaz® brand is locally available, it’s probably a good choice as there are 20 reviews on Amazon.com as of this date, and all are 5* rated. The HERDEZ® cornbread perfectly complimented the meat mixture. When making this again, I would only use 1/2 - 2/3 of the HERDEZ® cornbread mixture for this pie as the full amount makes a top layer of cornbread that is somewhat thick relative to the meat mixture. The remaining cornbread batter would be baked in a separate dish alongside the tamale casserole dish, and then frozen for future use. After 20 years of tinkering with this recipe, bcummings221, it’s time for you take a victory lap as it’s as close to perfect as it can practically get . . . thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is excellent and the men in my house love it. I modified the recipe to omit the cheese because we do not have cheese lovers in our house! It was great and the leftovers are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States