Sweet Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Excellent excellent excellent! This was my first turkey ever and I cooked for 20 people a 26 ponud bird...! I double the recipe and it was fabulous! Everyone raved at how good it and the stuffing was. I was affraid it might be too sweet but not at all! Also, Iwas worried that the cinnamon in the raisin bread might be too much, but again It was great. Even my guests who don't like raisins loved this stuffing, so don't be affraid to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I have made this stuffing every year for the past three years for our office thanksgiving dinner. I am now expected to make it because it is so well liked by the staff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Very good-- it has that nostalgic tase of stuffing I remember from Thanksgivings at grandma's house, but with a classy, fruity twist. I used fresh cranberries and instead of using raisin bread, I used whole wheat bread and added raisins-- it's wonderful, they plump up and get soooo juicy! I had some problems with it drying out and had to add water frequently. The first time I made it, I used it to stuff a pumpkin, but the second time I made it as a dish all its own. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I thought it was delicious as did most of my guests. One thought it was a bit sour with the cranberries. I doubled the recipe and found out I had more liquid than bread cubes. The reason was that I used a relatively thin sliced bread. I ended up using about 30 thin slices vs. 24 what the doubled recipe called for. Came out moist and flavorful overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Every year for Christmas I make this stuffing. People in my family who don't like stuffing eat this great dish. Very good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This got rave reviews at my Thanksgiving table. I normally hate stuffing but I LOVED this. It is almost like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this stuffing for Thanksgiving and received good reviews from my guests. It is a delicious stuffing but I think next time I will cut the raisin bread in half with pumpernickel for a little less sweet. The recipe is easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This had great flavor. I was looking for something a little different from the traditional and this was perfect. That being said, I don't know how thick the bread slices are supposed to be, but some of the ingredient amounts seemed off. I used 12 thin slices which was almost the whole little loaf. There were way too many cranberries, and too much onion. I used maybe 3/4 cup onion, and added 1 stalk of celery. The liquid amount was perfect though. Will definitely use this again. **11/08 Update: I now use this recipe as a base and love it. I use half raisin bread and half cube stuffing mix, which cuts a bit of the sweetness. I add celery, use less onion, and a small amount of dried cranberries instead of all those fresh/frozen cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent stuffing! I have used fresh and dried cranberries- both work well. I have made it for a few years, and people always request it and rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Thanks for the posted comments - they were very helpful. Not one morsel of this side item was left in the casserole dish when I made it Thanksgiving Day and several dinner guests complimented me on its flavor. Here's how I amended the recipe: only 1 cup of diced onion, 1/4 cup of butter, 3/4 cup dried cranberries, about 8 slices of cinnamon raisin bread (cubed and toasted), and about 6 slices of whole-wheat bread (cubed and toasted). Everything else was the same. I baked it separately from my lemon and rosemary stuffed turkey and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States