Sweet Sticky Rice with Mangoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made this once already and it came out perfect. It's a simple recipe that tastes like it came from a Thai restaurant. I will be making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkin326

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
FABULOUS! Didn't change anything (except I had to add more water 3x during rice cooking phase). I've never made rice in the microwave...always in the rice cooker, so this was a fun recipe! And YUMMY!!! It was more than enough for 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I loved this dish. I used grilled pineapple slices instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camellia85
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Was great! I used flour in place of cornstarch ( only because I didnt have any) and it worked fine. Simple and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I have made this twice. The first time I used sticky rice and cooked it on a splatter guard on top of pan of water about three inches from rice and placed a stainless steal bowl over the rice. I turned the rice once during cooking. It turned perfect. The second time some of the rice cooked and some didn't and after two hour I just chucked it and made long grain rice. It was ok but I didn't really like it after having the sticky rice. I am going to try the micro wave and if that doesn't work I am going to buy a steamer. 1/2 cup sugar in the coconut milk and it was more than sweet. The second time I used Agave' sugar and it wasn't as sweet. The flavor was there but need to add more next time. You can also use tapioca starch in place of corn starch which I did. I also used 1/2 cups rice and i/2 cups coconut milk. I live in Australia and there are no Mangos at this time of year so I used canned ones. I preferred them and it was a lot cheaper. ( I really miss the great food in the US) You really can use any kind of fruit you like. This is really one of the best recipes I have tried on the site and 8 of my friends who I served it to agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I've made this recipe on the stove. This is good, but I gave it a 4 star rating because the topping is a bit bland/gooey/pastey tasting. The second time I made it, I doubled the sugar in the topping recipe, but it still tasted a little pastey after it simmered 2 minutes. So, after I removed it from the heat, I added 1/4 tsp. vanilla and it was much better tasting. Instead of fresh mango I used the Dole frozen mango chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Turned out really well and was actually much simpler than I expected. I would have liked it if there was slightly more of the coconut sauce, but perhaps I over cooked it and lost some. But it was a real treat overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Yes, this is exactly the recipe I was looking for. The proportions are perfect (rice:sauce) and it tastes like it should. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is my favorite dessert in a Thai resturant. I am so happy to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States