Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Karen - 7 Rich 8-9 Not good reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very very good! Tried it for the first time with too very discriminating teenagers...aka fussy. 1 out of 2 giving it a 4 out of 5 is excellent. The other teen is virtually impossible to please. This meal is delicious and fast to prepare. In the future when I make this for adults I will play with the ingredients to make it spicier, add some veggies, ginger for some more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Dice
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Based on previous reviews, I made the sauce on the side first. It thickened up just fine for me. Then, I cooked the chicken and added the sauce to it. I used chicken thighs, because I didn't have any breasts, and they were juicy and delicious. The level of heat was perfect for me. The first bite was awesome, but by the time I got to the end of the dish, I think the soy sauce flavor was just too strong for me. The next time I make this, I will probably cut back on the soy sauce, like maybe half as much. Then, I'll taste it and determine whether to add more sugar or honey. I didn't get much of a sweet flavor, just a lot of heat and soy. Perhaps cutting back on the soy will bring out more of the sweet and I won't have to add any. We'll see. This recipe is a great start, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Didn't really care for this. The sauce didn't thicken up like I thought it would. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
It was absolutely scrumptious , everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe for the sauce and coated the chicken with flour. I served it with quinoa pilaf. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
It was as quick and as tasty as stated. I needed a quick chicken recipe to fo with a baked mac and cheese casserole and steamed veggies. My in-laws and children loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TNGUYEN
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good. I took the advice of others and dredged the chicken with flour before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I loved it!! Boyfriend wants a little milder version and asked me to try it next time with some onion, broccoli and maybe shredded carrots. I will try that for him! For me it was perfect with amazing flavor. Served it over brown rice. Also followed the suggestion to flour the chicken, cooked and removed and added sauce to the same pan and brought it up to full simmer. Then added chicken back in to coat and turned to low while cooking the rice. It was thick and perfectly sticky. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Sorry to be one of those annoying "I changed a bunch" reviewers... but here we go. I tossed the chicken with salt, pepper, cornstarch and a little flour. I browned it in a heavy skillet and removed it from the pan. I doubled the sauce and added a couple of tablespoons vinegar to make a sweet/spicy/sour flavor similar to General Tso's chicken. I put the sauce into the same skillet and scraped up all they yummy bits. When I added the chicken back into the sauce, I also added a half-pound of frozen broccoli. Simmered for 10 minutes. Deliciousness! Thanks for the great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made for dinner tonight. Amazing!! I followed suggestions for flouring chicken and cooking times for chicken. So tender and delicious. Everyone including kids loved! That never happens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States