Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was the perfect recipe for me. Easy to do, simple ingredients and worked perfectly, first time, every time. I halved the hot sauce, garlic and ginger, and it was just right for my family. The sauce thickens up if you let it simmer long enough - longer than specified. Makes enough sauce for the meat but if you want to pour it over rice, double the recipe. This was the first Chinese recipe with which I could produce results remotely like what you get at a Chinese restaurant. And the sauce is perfect for stir-fried veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Recipe was good! I didn't have ginger root with me so I had to do with out but it still turned out good. Not as sticky as I wanted it but the sauce was still amazing. Thank you for this recipe! My husband loved it! I will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Really delicious. I used 1/2 tbs cornstarch and 1/2 tbs water mixed together and threw that in to thicken the sauce. Really pretty color. Also added some toasted sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Very good! Followed directions and doubled sauce. You can never have too much sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Definitely a keeper with modifications--the sauce is the perfect amount of sweet and spicy. I chopped the chicken into bite-sized pieces and tossed them in flour to lightly coat them. I only had 2 chicken breasts and that was plenty. I also added water chestnuts and some asparagus a few minutes before it was all done. Next time, I'll probably add more veggies like snow peas and broccoli since I like more texture with my chicken and will make 1 1/2 times the sauce so that everything gets coated well with enough for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very good, did flour chicken lighty before browning and my sauce thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Family really liked it, but as my husband said, "It was very good, but it wouldn't be something I'd request too often." I did have to make a few changes based on what I had available. I doubled the recipe simply because I had a lot more boneless, skinless chicken thighs than called for. I also did add a few drops of sesame oil. I dredged the chicken in corn starch prior to cooking as the recommendations of other reviewers suggested. The sauce thickened up nicely, although there wasn't any left over to put on the rice, per se. Because I had so much chicken I had to cook it in batches so it didn't just steam. Good recipe for what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaNae Gibbs Cottam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chaya
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
My husband is particular that his schnitzel should be soft and sticky. This recipe is amazing!!! It tasted great. And was soft and sticky. I dredged the chicken nuggets in flour befor searing them and this ensured that the chicken became this awesome! !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe. I used chicken tenders and floured them. I think this helped to thicken the sauce. But I followed everything else exactly and it was so delicious. Went really well well with mashed potatoes. My family loves mashed potatoes and also scarfed up this dish. Had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amaris r
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great simple tasty recipe. I put this over jasmine rice... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States