Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Loved this, even better, so did the family. It was a bit spicy for me, but very easy and tasty. Second round we cut back on the ginger, omitted the hot sauce and added fresh squeezed orange juice and orange zest. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Quick and easy to prepare. We live in Russia so finding all the ingredients for a new recipe usually takes a bit of extra effort but not this time. Only a quick trip to buy fresh ginger and we were in business! I served it as a main course with bulgar wheat and broccoli flowers and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, but I was disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly, and didn't like the flavor. It was missing something. And it had way too much soy sauce. So I started tinkering, trying to save it. I added more brown sugar. Nope. I added a sliced onion. Nope. In desperation I added a cup of Thai Kitchen Sweet Red Chili sauce. Slightly better, but not there yet. I ended up adding 2 more cups of Thai Kitchen sauce. A little better, but not memorable. I don't think I'll be making this again. Regardless, I know a lot of people liked it, and I say more power to them! We each have our own tastes, and I'm just grateful for this wonderful Web site and for those who take the time to comment. I have found the comments to be insightful and helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
The only suggestion is maybe drain the chicken juice a bit before adding the sauce in, but it was a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
great flavor! 4 stars because I made just a couple needed modifications... Instead of hot sauce I used my chili-garlic sauce, cuz I like it, and 1/4 tsp is enough to give me flavor without making it too spicy for the kids... second, I added a TBS of cornstarch to the sauce before pouring it over the thicken, which I often do in my asian stir-fry sauces to thicken them... and third, I had stir-fried onion, carrot, green bean, and celery then added that back in to the chicken and sauce reduction, served the whole thing over rice and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
OH MY GOD! This was amazing. I made it exactly as written except for omitting the hot sauce. At the end when the chicken and sauce were done, I stirred in some chopped onion and green pepper. Served over brown rice. I used two large breasts, weighing a little over a pound in total, and thought the sauce wouldn't be enough, but it was perfect. Oh, and I almost forgot, I did roll the chicken pieces in flour based on many reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Delicious! I used 6 breasts and made 2 batches of sauce, leaving the hot sauce out of one as not everyone here likes spicy. It was a hit with everyone! I personally loved the spicy. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Terrific flavor! I would cut hot sauce in half only due to my husband's preference, and I did dredge the chicken pieces in flour before Browning. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Agree that it has a heavy soy sauce taste. My end result looked nothing like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I dredged the chicken and cooked it off allowing a few more minutes than the one minute per side. I made the sauce per the recipe and next time would double the ingredients with exception of the hot sauce(sriracha)allowing sauce for the rice. worth a try and personal adjustments. As a note I could not get 4 chicken breasts cut into 1/2 inch strips in a 12 1/2 frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States