Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I used Sriracha as my hot sauce. This recipe is just flat out awesome. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this a few days ago and it was a hit. did make some changes as others suggested.. Dredged chicken in flour and cooked it over medium heat separate from the sauce. heated the sauce in a separate sauce pan and added to chicken when it thickened and chicken was just about done. used Sriracha hot chili sauce instead of hot sauce. Used chicken strips cut into bite size.. Turned out GREAT! will make this again and again!!! Thank you all for your input it is most helpful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Liked this very much! Though, I would advise to also follow the advice of reviewers and change the method slightly:: I heated the sauce in a small sauce pan, while sautéing my chicken pieces in a separate pan. When chicken was 3/4 done, I added the heated (and, by that point, thickening) sauce & cooked the chicken the rest of the way like that on low heat. The result was perfectly saucy, sticky, spicy-sweet chicken bites. Super easy too! Absolutely lovely with rice and steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again ( & again, & again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity  Saffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed other people's advice here and dredged my chicken strips (three step dredging - flour+egg soak+flour again with seasoning added to flour - salt, pepper and cayenne pepper). Took very long to make it but was worth it. I also added bell peppers and onions following another reviewr's advice and that added a lot of flavour. But the sauce turned out to be very less. I had to make a second batch with double the quantity..so essentially the sauce finally used was thrice the amount mentioned in original recipe. Iused Sriracha hot chilli sauce as er another advice i found in reviews section. The final dish turned out to be spicy, sweet and sticky, just perfect. thank you everyone for all the helpful comments that helped me make my first ever chicken dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuhina Singh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I liked this recipe and give it a 4~5 just for ease. The chicken is not crispy like at the restaurants, but they coat it in cornstarch and basically deep fry it. This sauce mixture is similar to bottled stuff I have bought but way better. I followed the recipe, but used low sodium soy sauce, 1/2 the ginger suggested, and approximately 2 teaspoons of sirachi hot sauce for the hot sauce. I basically fully cooked cut up chicken, in a pan heated with corn oil on temperature 7, with a little salt, pepper, and adobo all-purpose seasoning. Then added the sauce stirring for just a couple of minutes more. I served with stir fry blend fresh vegetables, from tjs, cooked the same way but without sauce. Lastly, I garnished with sesame seeds. I would make this again for ease alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I have made a similar recipe for many years, will post my recipe soon. I can say that this recipe needs cornstarch though for it to be sticky and no oil is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenJenCooks
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Good! Very tasty. Easy I did not add hot sauce because of my little ones. Will make again! Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Moorpark, California, USA
Photo by lizzybaker
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very good! I didn't have enough soy sauce so I used terriaki sauce as a sub, also I have really light weight kids so I used half the amount of hot sauce-- and took others advice and dredged the chicken in flour, as well as cooked down the sauce while I browned the chicken. It was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved the recipe. I also added a tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chara Sakellari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States