Sweet Spicy Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Who knew that hot wings were so freaking easy to make. I did do a couple things differently but they turned out awesome and will be a regular for us now. As I was shopping for louisiana hotsauce I noticed that they actually sell a hot wing sauce kit which consist of the wing sauce and seasoning. I bought this and seasoned the wings and marinated them for 24 hours in only the seasonings. Then I mixed the louisiana wing sauce with everything from the original recipe. I really think the honey and the seasonings make this recipe. My grill went out so I deep fried the wings for 15 minutes per batch on 375. All I have to say is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
WOW!! These are awesome! Make lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I love grilling. One word describes this recipie "awesome". I accidentally forgot the black pepper no problem for me but next time I will be sure to put it in. While mixing the sauce tested it and decided to add some brown sugar to sweeten and thicken things up, Perfect, my new flavorite wings. Make em ahead of time for the best flavor yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Why have I been going out for wings? I had no idea wings could be awesome without the deep fry!!! This recipe was full of surprises! I followed the recipe exactly. I wasn't sure about the honey in the sauce so I divided it and only used 1/2 the honey in 1/2 the sauce, the other half was a traditional buffalo sauce. The sweet sauced wings were gone first over the traditional buffalo. I'll do that again, b/c they were good. I did find the sauce to be a little too buttery, so next time I will reduce the amount of butter, but still 5 stars as written. (FYI, I used Franks Red Hot for the hot sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
WOW!! excellent recipe.... made a 1/2 batch of sauce for a whole cut up chicken. After grilling I put them in the oven at 325 for 30 minutes and the sauce thickened and I basted the chicken. THIS IS A KEEPER!! THANKS! (I used Franks red hot, instead of LH sauce- that's what I had in the house)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This sauce is great. I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you Lisa for this wonderful sauce. My bf and I absolutely loved it. In fact he asked me to make a gallon and keep it on hand. Very delicious. We put it on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe! It has the perfect amount of sweetness and spiciness. Personally I liked it way better than the other wing recipe I tried from this site (Baked Buffalo Wings). Perfect with ranch or blue cheese dressing and celery sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBenhase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Richmond, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Not very spicy, actually very disappointing. The sauce is very runny, I added cornstarch paste to thicken and it was still too runny to stick to the wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
As suggested by other reviewers, I used a package of frozen wings and marinated overnight in the sauce. I did not make extra sauce or toss them in any after grilling. They were fabulous naked (dipped in ranch or bleu cheese, of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyFish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made these as one of the flavors of wings for our Super Bowl festivities and they turned out really well. I did back them instead though. I wish I could have tasted a bit more of the combination of sweet and spicy instead of majority spicy, but all in all really good. Maybe they really will turn out better grilled. I'll have to take that route the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States