Sweet Spicy Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These wings have just the right amount of heat. Sweet but with a bite. Made them for a party and everyone raved. Already have requests to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I didn't have any Louisiana-style hot sauce, but I did have Tapatio hot sauce. I looked around online, and several sites said that the Louisiana-style has more vinegar, so here's what I tried. I used 1/3 cup of Tapatio and added in white vinegar to make 1/2 cup. I kept everything else the same, but left out the cayenne since it seemed spicy enough. The sauce tasted delicious, and I marinated the wings for about 45 minutes. Here's what I should NOT have done - I followed one other person's review to turn up the heat to 400 for 7 minutes towards the end...bad idea - it ended up burning the sauce and blackening the parts of the wings touching the pan. However, the unburned parts still tasted pretty good! It's just too bad parts got burned. Next time, I will try it with Louisiana-style sauce to see if it's better, and I'll leave the oven temperature the same throughout. There is this packaged wing seasoning from French's (that I think used to be another brand) that tastes REALLY good - I was hoping that this would taste the same, but it's still a bit different (and the French's seasoning is still tastier). However, this isn't bad for making it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used the recipe but I deep fried them, my family said they were some of the best wings they have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe! I used less cayenne for my own taste but the addition of honey makes an awesome sauce. My new staple for hot wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I thought this recipe was good but I'm going to do things a little differently next time. The sauce was a little too runny for me so next time I going to add a little corn starch to thinken it up. Also, I added 3 teaspoons of red pepper and it just wasn't hot enough for me. I think next time I will add some habenaro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I used this recipe for the sauce since everyone said it's so good, and it didn't dissapoint. It's great. I'll def use this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
What can I say, this has replaced my regular recipe for buffalo wings, I'm about to make some now. We love it. Thank you Lisa for the delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is so awesome. Plenty of sauce left over. Got the the sweet hint of honey followed by the bite of spice. The hubby and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I fried half and baked the other half. My son thought they were great! I put less butter in the mixture. I used the broiler for the last 3-5 minutes after coating. (I did forget to marinate..) After baking and realizing this, I poured the mixture over the chicken cooked for 10-15 minutes and then broiled. Still awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made these wings tonight for dinner and my family loved them. Our youngest daughter said they were too spicy but the rest of us really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States