Sweet Spicy Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very good. I did add a little flour to thicken it. I also added some apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was very good. I deep fried my wings first for 12 minutes (no breading) and then tossed them with some of the sauce. Since it was very thin, I did the same as a previous review said and added a little cornstarch mixed with water to the remaining sauce to thicken just a little. I poured more of the thickened sauce over top of the wings and tossed again. I then baked the wings in a very hot oven (450 degrees) for about 7-8 minutes just to brown the sauce a little, which is what I do anytime I make chicken wings. They were very tasty. I did cut down a little on the cayenne and it was still plenty hot. Next time I might use a little more honey since I like sweeter sauce, but overall this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
everyone LOVED these! made as directed, except a littles less cayenne just because I wasn't sure just how hot they would be but could have used a little more so will increase next time. They were still delicious. Would like to try on boneless chicken breast, make extra and cut up for a salad. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Made these for the Super Bowl and they were a hit! Be careful to not add too much cayenne... I put them in the crock pot to keep warm while watching the game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Side Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Out of three types of wings this one was voted the best of the three. The other two were Restraunt Style Wings, and just fried wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These wings have just the right amount of heat. Sweet but with a bite. Made them for a party and everyone raved. Already have requests to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I didn't have any Louisiana-style hot sauce, but I did have Tapatio hot sauce. I looked around online, and several sites said that the Louisiana-style has more vinegar, so here's what I tried. I used 1/3 cup of Tapatio and added in white vinegar to make 1/2 cup. I kept everything else the same, but left out the cayenne since it seemed spicy enough. The sauce tasted delicious, and I marinated the wings for about 45 minutes. Here's what I should NOT have done - I followed one other person's review to turn up the heat to 400 for 7 minutes towards the end...bad idea - it ended up burning the sauce and blackening the parts of the wings touching the pan. However, the unburned parts still tasted pretty good! It's just too bad parts got burned. Next time, I will try it with Louisiana-style sauce to see if it's better, and I'll leave the oven temperature the same throughout. There is this packaged wing seasoning from French's (that I think used to be another brand) that tastes REALLY good - I was hoping that this would taste the same, but it's still a bit different (and the French's seasoning is still tastier). However, this isn't bad for making it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I used the recipe but I deep fried them, my family said they were some of the best wings they have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe! I used less cayenne for my own taste but the addition of honey makes an awesome sauce. My new staple for hot wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I thought this recipe was good but I'm going to do things a little differently next time. The sauce was a little too runny for me so next time I going to add a little corn starch to thinken it up. Also, I added 3 teaspoons of red pepper and it just wasn't hot enough for me. I think next time I will add some habenaro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States