Sweet Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
this was an awesome recipe. I did make a few small changes. before i roasted the seeds i added a little garlic pepper and garlic powder. hearing others having problems with the oil i used margarine and had no problem. Others wise great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and have had the sugar separate from the oil at times. If you keep stirring it begins to slowly melt and turns into carmel. I doubled the amount of sugar and oil so we would have enough carmel to spoon over the seeds. It helps to have a second person sprinkle the spices over the seeds while you are spooning the carmel and turning the seeds to coat them well. Our family looks forward to this treat every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I LOVED this recipe!!! I've tried a few for pumpkin seeds, this is hands down the best. Every friend & family member who tried it said it was incredible. I did, however, use a LOT more of the seasonings than it called for-I used tons of seeds and made the mxiture double of the powder. It is really good, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome, the best pumpkin seeds I've ever made or eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a good recipe, although I used butter instead of "oil" and you have to be a little patient when melting sugar as to not burn it. I also added more chili powder and a little salt and these came out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt into the spice mix, and these came out great. The spice isn't too strong for me, but enough to be a nice change from plain salted pumpkin seeds. With the salt added, it's a nice balance of sweet, salty, and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made these for my daughter/hubby while up in Portland on Halloween. Everyone loved them! But I mistakenly didn't pour the seeds into a bowl prior to adding the "sweet & spice". I kept them on a cookie and the mixture only stuck to a small portion of the seeds. Next time I'll put them in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
very good..I added a smidge of salt as well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Launders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I also had problems with the sugar and oil separating. I used white pepper instead of chili or cayenne and it was sufficiently spicy. The spices didn't stick as well as I had hoped, but I did get a good mix of sweet and spicy on the ones the spices did stick to. I think I will try increasing the oil next time. It was delicious, just needs some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikeathena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
More sweet than spicy but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States