Sweet Sourdough Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Just started using sourdough and I can't bear to throw away un fed starter. I made these exactly and they came out just as I expected. I like the sweetness, and texture. Adding C. Chips or frosting would be a great addition as well. Most of all I love the consistency of the cookie. Almost like a biscuit or bread cookie. So good. One tip, I softened my butter in the microwave, like any cookie, I thought the dough was soft because of this. I placed dough in the fridge for a while. The second batch held its shape better. I'm sure you could leave the dough in the fridge overnight or a couple days in advance and put in the oven. This should help the flavors meld nicely as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Very nice way to use starter. I added a little bit more flout(1/4 cup), white chips and rolled in cinnamon/sugar. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Schad Hert-Britton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Purdy, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deleted
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I had good results with a variation on this recipe. I used half and half brown and white sugar, and half and half white and whole wheat flour. I also added cinnamon and chocolate chips. The reviewers who state that this recipe makes a wet dough must be using a very thin starter. I added a quarter cup extra flour and ended up needing more liquid. But the results are delicious and very filling; you can't sit around eating these cookies until they're gone. Some specific comments: These cookies aren't overly sweet. I like a less sweet cookie, but some people might want to add some more sugar. The consistency is more like mini-cakes than regular cookies. If you have a dense starter, the recommended flour will be more than enough. I found the cooking time to be insufficient. 18 minutes was perfect for my cookies. I'm definitely making these again, but I'll continue to play around with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Soft and tasty, a good base. I always need ways to use up my starter! I used whole wheat flour and reduced the sugar a bit, using part Rapadura. No need to grease the sheets. Cookies were nice on their own, though plain, so I whipped up Vanilla Glaze from my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook to drizzle on them. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Yummy, but by the end of day 1, they had crumbled into something you eat by the mushy handful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe. I love using sourdough starter, and what a better place than in cookies!? I used the dough to make both snickerdoodle and chocolate chip type cookies. The reason this didn't get 5 stars was because the dough was too wet and you couldn't do anything with it. Like other reviewers, I added a half cup of additional flour and my cookies were perfectly light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MailboxOven
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These are awesome. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to dough and stirred in raisins and about a cup of quick oats at the end. Glazed with powdered sugar, milk and lemon juice glaze while warm from the oven. My dad agreed these cookies are a winner, soft and light with a sweet tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MailboxOven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Living In: Talbotton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I just made a batch of these and they came out pillowy soft with a slightly crisp bottom. The only thing I did differently was to add 1/2 a teaspoon of ground nutmeg. I also used a #50 scoop, which gave me 36 cookies. Very plain tasting cookie. I topped with a simple vanilla butter cream icing and that made the cookie much better. I will bake again.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Big soft cookies. I took the advice of others and jazzed it up. I put some orange rind in the batter and just a touch of orange juice in the frosting. Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
These were great, but I had to put a healthful spin on them. I used 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour - adjust your flour based on how liquidy your sourdough starter is. I used 6 tablespoons butter and substituted the other 2 tablespoons using flax seed (3 tbsp flax = 1 tbsp butter, oil, etc). Also added chocolate chips. Think they are my new favorite cookies - they turned out almost cake like in texture! I also added a little extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States