Sweet-Sour Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This came out great. Think that the head of cabbage I had may have been on the small side. Wish the recipie had it by cups of shredded cabbage or by weight. Did shred in a food processor. Used a 12" rondeau pan so it was easy to cook bacon and plenty of room to mix apples onions and cabbage. Came to boil fast slow cooked 30 min a 2 on electric glass top and it was a great soft but crunchy stage (aldentae?). Now I'll play with it as others have to suit our own ideas. Had it with pork chops off the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEOFFOUR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
it is great; hot or cold; hardest part is to shred the cabbage or know what is a medium size head
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very flavorful and filling. I'm on Weight Watchers, so I used turkey bacon bits (very little fat) and olive oil for sauteing. This recipe is now a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Didn't change a thing - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very good and I am not an over the top cabbage fan, the only thing I might change is I will try leaving out the water next time as it seemed to dilute it a little too much. Cooked the cabbage then simmered with pre-cooked keilbasa served as an appetizer. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was very good. I added carraway seeds. I made this for Christmas and it was gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good! I did reduce both sugars to 1/3 cup and I still thought that it was a little too sweet. I would reduce the sugar even more next time. I substituted applesauce because I didn't have an apple. I increased the bacon to 6 slices and next time I would increase it even more. I also shredded my red cabbage in my food processor which I would not do again. The cabbage was MUCH too small. I prefer bigger chunks of shredded cabbage that you can only get from hand chopping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Followed the exact recipe and took to a potluck. Not even a teaspoonful was left. Froze some and saved for later. Was just as good as fresh and got rave reviews. Can't ask for better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is really great! The only change I made was using turkey bacon...I bet it's even better w/the real stuff, but it was so tasty this way too. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I'm a Dutch girl and my husband is Italian. Sweet and sour cabbage is one of our favorite dishes and, according to MDH, this is "the best I have ever eaten." I made no changes, except one and that is to remove some of the bacon grease and add butter. It was truly delicious. My main recipe for sweet and sour red cabbage from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States