Sweet-Sour Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Fantastic! We love this recipe. Can't wait to take it to church dinners. I substitued pecans once and we liked that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
With modifications, this has become my picky husband's favorite vegetable! For starters, this needs more sugar if using a cup of mayo (like about 1/2 cup of sugar). Secondly, I use (re-hydrated) dried cranberries instead of raisins (just makes it more colorful & the sweetness of the cransins completes the tangy, sweet dressing!) I also add 1/2 onion, chopped fine & 8oz. grated mozzarella. Oh! and you've GOT to add 8-10 strips of bacon, cooked crisp & crumbled! That REALLY makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is very tasty, my sister made it for our father's day celebration. It's just as good the next day. Since she used veganaise instead of mayo, we had a vegan version and no one even knew the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This didn't go over very well for me. The apple cider vinegar was just too overwhelming. I didn't have peanuts, so I toasted sunflower seeds & slivered almonds. I used a sweet red onion and less sugar. As is, I didn't care for it, so I cooked up some bacon & added a bit of fresh lemon juice. I'll use a different vinegar next time. To me this was all sweet with no sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I've used walnuts instead of peanuts, but either way this recipe is always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've made a salad very simular to this one before. However, for me if I steam the broccoli a little it seems to enhance the flavor. Broccoli is so good for us, that it is wonderful to have many variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very interesting flavor with the peanuts and raisins. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I give this five stars. I dislike when people review a recipe and do a zillion modifications, but . . . we have a horrible sweet-tooth in this house, so I had to add more sugar (blushes). I blame us, not the recipe. I like how you can eyeball this too. I had two broccoli heads and didn't want to waste them, so after assembling the recipe as written (perfect!) I tossed the extra in. No problem. My 11 year old son liked this so much, he had some for "dessert" later in the evening!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I make this with bagged broccoli slaw instead of florets, toasted blanched almonds and golden raisins. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used slivered, blanched almonds instead of peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States