Sweet Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This snack lives up to its title, as it is very sweet. I really liked the addition of the honey graham cereal in this. I've never used that in a mix before. I also added honey nut Cheerios and my nuts were honey roasted. This was very well received everywhere I took it this Christmas season. Most definitely will make with all the "honey" items again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by TracieT
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I make this every year! Only difference is I don't add pecans and I do add M-n-M's YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Yummy! This recipe seems to be identical (except for the peanuts) to the "White Trash" snack mix sold at the Outer Banks in North Carolina, but it's a lot cheaper to make your own! I added the peanuts this time, but next time I'll just go with more pecans. This simple recipe is addictively good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
SO good. I tried it with white almond bark and chocolate almond bark, and both are excellent. For the nuts I use one cup of honey roasted peanuts and one cup of cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this for "girls night" this weekend. I was looking for a salty sweet snack that was easy to make, not messy to eat, and goes well with girl talk and drinks! This was perfect! We ate it all! I personally don't like pecans, so I left them out, and increased the peanuts and pretzels 1/2 cup each to compensate for not adding the pecans. I also used chocolate chex cereal instead of the honey graham cereal. I combined it all in a large bowl, spread it out on wax paper, then drizzled with the white chocolate. Once it set, put it all back in the bowl and broke it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeluzio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe for getting a sweet, crispy snack mix. I followed it exactly until I wanted to sprinkle in more taste. After drizzling and mixing in the honey/butter I added 1 tablespoon of kosher salt, 1/3 at a time and mixing 3 times. I then used 1 tablespoon of Grill Mates, Cinnamon Chipotle Rub (for steaks, etc.), 1/3 at a time for 3 mixings. I baked as directed using parchment paper as a cookie sheet liner. I turned the mix 3 times during the 14-minute bake. I cooled as directed and got a nice crispy glaze with a hint of smokey flavor. Just what I wanted! Thanks for the basic recipe. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Love this stuff! Also tried making it with white almond bark and it turned out just as yummy as the original recipe with white chocolate chips. My mom makes a similar recipe by the name of "Santa's Snack Mix". Both are an A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This ROCKS. I used slivered almonds in place of the pecans, because noone in this house likes them. One batch is gone already and I just made it LAST NIGHT! This is a fun recipe to include your kids in, my oldest had a BLAST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Great recipie!My grandmother from Texas makes this as well,only diffrence is she uses captain crunch,awsome treat!We call it trash though.Yummy trash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This is easy to make, and easy to adjust to your personal tastes. I gave some to friends for Christmas and they all asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States