Sweet Short Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great crust. Used powdered sugar in place of granulated, a little less than the teaspoon of salt, and 3/4 cups unsalted butter in place of the 1/2 cup butter-1/4 shortening. My strawberry pie needed a precooked crust so baked, as indicated by Chef Tena, at 425 for almost 15 minutes before cooling and adding the filling. Wonderful flavor. Had a pretty tough time rolling out and almost gave in to the desire to simply press it into the pie pan. Persevered, however, and in the end got it almost in one piece into the pan. Flaky with just the right amount of sweetness. With practice, feel sure this will become our favorite sweet pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I really like this pastry pie crust. You need to put what temp. to bake the pastry pie crust. `425 at 15min. Most bakers are beginners and this is not fair to them. Just saying. Do not forget to chill. I put this in my freezer for spur of the moment ideals. Personal Chef Tena
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Tena

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
absolutly scrummy , light flakey and salt was perfect for the overly sweet filling , but you could cut it a bit for a less sweet filling ( banoffee pie was what i made ) have also used it for pecan and maple pie and key lime perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Wasn't sure about the vanilla, had never heard of it in pie crust before, but it was fine. This rolled out nicely between wax paper. I made it into 4 large cherry-filled turnovers, baked at 425 for 35 min. Golden, beautiful, sweet enough, flaky! Went well with the cherry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Great Buttery Crust! I used this for a pie. It takes pretty long to cook the bottom part of the crust & also - you HAVE to blind bake this or it will shrivel up like crazy.....learned that the hard way haha. No need for baking spray on your pan, there is tons of butter in here that will stop this crust from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used this recipe for mince pies, and everyone loved it. The pies didn't fall apart, nor have soggy bottoms! I'll definitely try it out on a full-sized pie with confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
delete shortning and use amount of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is an excellent simple sweet pastry. I use it for lots of berry pies, but it's divine for AR's Strawberry Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I used this recipe for my butter tarts and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A good recipe. Could cut the salt a bit. Didn't come out as flaky with margarine. More 'pastry'ish than 'cookie'ish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States