Sweet Sausage 'n' Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Pretty good, but it mostly tastes like baked beans. I used tomato puree instead of ketchup, and slightly less of it (because the puree isn't as thick as ketchup). We added some Frank's Red Hot at the table, and that improved it a lot. Not sure we'll make again; easy and a great assortment of veggies, though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
OMGoodness this is GREAT!!! Wonderful flavor and perfectly tangy. I browned the sausage first, then sliced into 1/4 inch, i drained most of the juice off of the canned baked beans, and added 1/4 cup of wine vinegar, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1/3 cup brown sugar, bout T of brown mustard with 2 sliced carrots. No lima beans or green beans (we were out) Boyfriend says he wants this again or ALL the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I'm giving this recipe five stars based on what it is - an easy, delicious comfort-food type of meal. I threw in a partial can of black olives that I needed to get used but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. May up the onion amount next time. Our crock pot could handle a double batch so may try that for 6 hours or so. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Long ago I had a check-out paperback crock pot cookbook. There was a version of this in it which was truly the best...but this is not bad at all. Cut the sugar, add cubed ham and/or bacon lightly fried. Pre-cook whole baby carrots. Cook this in the crockpot for a nice change of pace. Makes a fine summer meal with a salad, since it doesn't require much heat in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a hearty, no-fuss dish. The only change I made was to decrease the amount of sugar to 1/4 c. (there's plenty of sugar in the ketchup and baked beans already), and I might use even less next time. Also, I used smoked turkey sausage. This certainly isn't a fancy dish, but it was good and quick to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was great! I didn't have as much time & just cooked it in a Dutch Oven & it turned out just great. I did have to cout out the lima beans for my picky eaters though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pjbailey713

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Wanted to like it, but just did. not. at. all. Different strokes for different folks -- but this was NOT for us. I ended up ordering a pizza. Thank goodness I had only made this for my family and not company... I will not attempt this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a regular on my rotation. Of course I've made a few changes. Don't we all. I delete limas and add kidney and black beans. I also add green peppers. i have tried it with browned ground beef and that is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Initially I was put off by what I thought to be an odd combination of ingredients, I was bored so I tried it.. and oh my goodness!!.. this is now a family favorite and I am making it for our Church 'pot luck' tonight.. it's cold outside, and this is the perfect wholesome yummy meal!! I am no cook, so I didn't change a thing, in my opinion.. you just don't need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
We did not like this at all. We live in the Southwest and are used to spicy foods, not sweet. My son wouldn't even eat it and he loves sausage. It is much too sweet, very much like my mother's baked beans and the same thing can be accomplished with a can of Bush's baked beans with a little spice, like red pepper flakes and some onion -- try a little green pepper also. Sorry Dorris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States