Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is the recipe I've been looking for, for years! The glaze is perfect, and I like the little cayenne kick. I used parchment paper instead of foil, and had no problem getting the nuts off the sheet when they were still a little warm. I have scads of walnuts, and I'm always looking for good ways to cook them. This is one of the best yet! Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bohlenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made these the day before a party and left them out on the counter. My family ate all of them as soon as they cooled. I had to make more for the party the morning of, and once again my family ate most of them. That's how good these were. Followed the recipe exactly. My family told me I could open a peanut shop, sell these, and make a fortune-- thanks for the great recipe. They were the biggest hit at the party (thankfully the guests were able to eat some before my family did) and will definitely be a pantry staple when we buy nuts in bulk. Work great with only walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Loved this. I was given 24 oz. of walnuts, so I wanted to glaze them for salads and snacks. I changed up the spices to only 1/4 tsp. salt and cinnamon. and added an additional 6 mins at the end for a deeper roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUILTINGMAMASITA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Kelseyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Excellent! I add a bit more chili powder for extra zing. If using a nonstick cookie sheet, the foil is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I decided to try this because I had a bag of raw almonds I needed to use up. I roasted them first. I love the seasoning, and I thought it could have had a bit more kick - but the balance of sweet and salty is perfect. Step 5 is a bit confusing - he mentions stirring the nuts to coat but they were already coated in the bowl. Spray the aluminum foil - that's important. And these will dry and stop being gooey as they cool. Stir every few minutes as it cools so the nuts separate. I had to extend the cooking time on mine to 20 minutes. I will make these for my next party! And what a great Christmas gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Love this recipe! Have used this twice now and I get rave reviews and recipe requests every time. Super easy also. This may become my signature appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
OMG can I tell you how good these are! I made a batch for a baby shower and they were half gone before I was able to put them away. Had to make a second batch. I baked them on parchment paper for exactly the time prescribed and they were perfect! No trouble with sticking to the foil or stirring them in the middle. Definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizBrauss
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Amazing! Fast! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Love, love love these. Very addictive. I did change the prep a little as I couldn't see how the spices would evenly distribute if applied directly to the nuts, so I stirred them into the butter mixture before I put it on the nuts and mixed. I also made sure I loosened them from the foil and broke them apart while they were done and still warm. Have made several times and will make them again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Cut back the cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelHappy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States