Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I added 1/2 the salt and these were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
These nuts are always a hit. I've made them two or three times now for parties. I'm quite the chili head so if you want extreme heat, here is what I do - and 1/4 tsp ghost pepper hot sauce (Daves Insanity) and 1/4 tsp of Cajohns Trinidad (Scorpion) Hot Sauce to the mixture and then mince 2-3 habanero and 1 large red jalapeño peppers with membrane removed and sprinkle in some ghost pepper flakes when coating the nuts. People still eat it up and my wife and I love it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Easy recipe. I took the advice of others and added the spices to the butter/sugar mixture. I thought it needed more spice after tasting the mixture, so I doubled the pepper and cayenne. I also added a few shakes of cinnamon. Bake on the parchment paper - that avoids sticking. Stir again when out of oven. I sprinkled the nuts with a little more cayenne and sea salt while cooling. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These were ok but could be alot better. I didn't read any of the reviews first so didn't see that you should NOT let the nuts cool in the pan. So I did let them cool in the pan and they turned into a solid block of nuts!I had to literally pry/hack them apart and then try to peel off the foil bit by bit. A total disaster. I then just reheated them in the pan to soften them and was able to get most of them out but it wasn't easy. So be SURE to put them in a bowl as soon as you take them out of the oven. Secondly there's just not enough spice. I added a little more of everything and they still tasted way too mild. If I made these again, I would put double the spices and salt (if not more) and add garlic powder. 1/4 tsp? That's just not enough. You can heat the butter and sugar mix in the microwave instead of on the stove. I would also add the spices to the butter next time instead of on the dry nuts so it blends better. I liked the fact that these were not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very easy to prepare... makes great hostess gift. I cooked these on parchment paper and had no "sticky" problem. They're cooling now -- I don't know if I can wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cobblerman
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I tripled the recipe and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed the directions exactly and loved it! So good! Today I used chipotle chili powder instead of cayenne pepper, and added a little paprika with a little less cumin and they also came out delicious. I used non-stick foil and didn't have a problem with sticking at all in case that helps anyone out. I'd definitely make these again, and they made great gifts for teachers and our mail carrier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jschm117
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious, but I made them for friends that don't like sweet things. The first batch was a little sweet and not spicy enough for me. The second batch I doubled the cayenne and cumin and cut back a little on the syrup. Much more what I expected. To prevent sticking I would also suggest not using the foil and stir them several times immediately after you take them out of the oven as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was hoping they would have a kick to them, I should note I used Berbere & tasted the spice ahead of time to make sure it was going to be spicy. Mostly tasted sugar & a little bit of salt. Next time I'm going to reduce sugar a bit & up the spice. I added the spice to the sugar mixture right before adding nuts to ensure all nuts were evenly coated. I also used a Silpat. Overall these were okay & will make them again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States