Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These were ok but could be alot better. I didn't read any of the reviews first so didn't see that you should NOT let the nuts cool in the pan. So I did let them cool in the pan and they turned into a solid block of nuts!I had to literally pry/hack them apart and then try to peel off the foil bit by bit. A total disaster. I then just reheated them in the pan to soften them and was able to get most of them out but it wasn't easy. So be SURE to put them in a bowl as soon as you take them out of the oven. Secondly there's just not enough spice. I added a little more of everything and they still tasted way too mild. If I made these again, I would put double the spices and salt (if not more) and add garlic powder. 1/4 tsp? That's just not enough. You can heat the butter and sugar mix in the microwave instead of on the stove. I would also add the spices to the butter next time instead of on the dry nuts so it blends better. I liked the fact that these were not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very easy to prepare... makes great hostess gift. I cooked these on parchment paper and had no "sticky" problem. They're cooling now -- I don't know if I can wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cobblerman
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I tripled the recipe and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed the directions exactly and loved it! So good! Today I used chipotle chili powder instead of cayenne pepper, and added a little paprika with a little less cumin and they also came out delicious. I used non-stick foil and didn't have a problem with sticking at all in case that helps anyone out. I'd definitely make these again, and they made great gifts for teachers and our mail carrier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jschm117
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious, but I made them for friends that don't like sweet things. The first batch was a little sweet and not spicy enough for me. The second batch I doubled the cayenne and cumin and cut back a little on the syrup. Much more what I expected. To prevent sticking I would also suggest not using the foil and stir them several times immediately after you take them out of the oven as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was hoping they would have a kick to them, I should note I used Berbere & tasted the spice ahead of time to make sure it was going to be spicy. Mostly tasted sugar & a little bit of salt. Next time I'm going to reduce sugar a bit & up the spice. I added the spice to the sugar mixture right before adding nuts to ensure all nuts were evenly coated. I also used a Silpat. Overall these were okay & will make them again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I guess I'm Jr High cooking level as I overcooked the first batch abit. Upon seeing the video Chef explained that the little nuts need to remain together. I single layered mine right out and poor lil buggers are too toasty. I was watching the timer like a hawk! Thankfully my husband of 28 years has acquired a taste for "over done". Batch 2 (AFTER seeing the video) was much better. It gave me an eye for the visual of finished product! Keep an eye on the oven! Nothing should get too dark. I like the addition of worcestershire. I splashed in 1/2 teaspoon in. Otherwise held true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dc3boys
Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
The first time I made this (yesterday), I used almonds, cashew halves and left out the cumin. I paired these with a bourbon vanilla caramel sauce in gift baskets and cumin didn't fit in. I'm making it again tonight for more gifts and I'm using cashews, almonds, pecans, and peanuts. This time I'll leave out the cumin AND the black pepper. It's just too dominant a flavor for me. I really just prefer the cayenne for heat. The cooking method is quick, easy, and I had no problem whatsoever with it sticking. I followed the recipe for the caramel, the prep, and the cooking time and it worked beautifully for me. Humidity does play a factor so that may have been the problem for some folks. Awesome recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong but we though these were disgusting. I made a batch for Christmas gifts and ended up throwing them all away. Sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States