Sweet Salsa and Cinnamon Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Wow! This is definitely very refreshing and not to mention a wonderful combination of colors and flavors. No matter what assortment of fresh fruit you use it's bound to be good so use your favorites and use the recipe as a guide. I added chopped peaches to mine and used fresh strawberries. Baking the chips keeps this a little healthier and lower in fat. So, for the cinnamon chips I used reduced fat tortillas and cut them with a pizza cutter which made things a lot easier. I sprayed them with butter flavored Pam and sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar. I baked them at 350 for 8 minutes flipped them and baked them for another 7 minutes. They were crispy and delicious - next time I would double the amount because they went fast. This got a lot of compliments not only for taste, but for creativity. I'll definitely make this again - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Even the kids liked it. Made the salsa with just strawberries and bananas with a little sugar for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I accidentally bought the wrong size tortillas. I had the fajita size which looked like about 6." So, I used 5 instead of 3. I thought the cinnamon sugar looked like way to much. I did 1/2 cup sugar mixed with 1 Tablespoon of cinnamon, and still had some left using half. This recipe and others do not say what type of cooking spray to use. I believe I bought the wrong one. Mine was more like a butter than a spray and my chips were kind of soggy! I think it means a cooking spray like Pam. I do not like kiwi, so I left that out, but added some chopped strawberries, but think the peach idea would have been better. I also added a couple sprinkles of sugar, as the chips already have sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
needed something to keep my nieces and nephew happy and they would all eat. This was GREAT! Made the chips in small batches (I did burn the first one) and found that I needed to clean the pan about every other batch as the sugar became burnt syrup when left on the pan. So very tasty and a creative way to use up some of my Kiwis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I am rating the chips only. They were easy to make and very good. I make my own fruit salsa recipe, from red apple, grapes, strawberries, peach and preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I used another reviewers advice and added peaches to the recipe. I made the cinnamon chips but also purchased a box of graham cracker sticks for my son to dip. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEVDP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is always a huge hit at parties! I add a small amount of sugar to the strawberries while blending and pair this salsa with the cream cheese/ marshmallow fluff dip. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is definitely a refreshing treat and a healthy snack for the kids. We've used graham crackers or the graham cracker sticks for dipping too! If you really want to save time, throw the fruit into your food processor and just chop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Wonderful! So refreshing on a warm summer day. I made this take to a party and ended up eating a lot of it myself. Oops. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very good recipie. I love all the different flavours I got rom this mixture! It's going on my favourites!I also added two peaches. It was even better! And if you have leftovers a great way to eat it is to put the salsa in a skillet on the stove, to heat it, and cook with curry. Taastes sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ayr, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States