Sweet Sage Cream Sauce (without the Sage!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
very sweet and rich, but goes well with pumpkin or squash ravioli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I omitted the oil, used soy milk instead of cream, and omitted the brown sugar. This was great on beet raviolis! I can't wait to top other kinds of pasta with this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Nice flavor, just not intended for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was great with our homemade acorn squash ravioli. It was quite thick and next time I would add more cream or milk. I also added walnuts to the dish as a final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Very good. A little too thick, though. Would use more milk next time. Served it over Trader Joes honey roasted pumpkin ravioli. Yum! Perfect meal on a cool, fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I added the sage anyway and used skim milk that I thickened with a little cornstarch instead of flour. I know it sounds kinda strange but it worked and less fat. It had a very nice taste and was wonderful on our squash ravioli. I also omitted the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Delicious but cut sugar by 1/2 and added chicken broth as well as sage for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I must say...I did make a few changes, and wow! I did add 1/2 tsp. sage as others suggested (if you like it, which I do); I took others' suggestion and only added 1 tsp. brown sugar instead of 1 tbsp., and used 1 c. skim milk plus 1/2-2/3 c. half and half. For the finishing touch, I thought "wow, I have a bottle of whiskey just sitting there, I wonder how that would be??" So I added 1/4 c. whiskey....Let me tell you, that was the best way to finish this sauce!! Terrific! We served it on Trader Joe's Butternut Squash ravioli with grilled chicken breasts and fresh butternut squash chunks. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was good, it is pretty sweet but it pairs well with butternut squash. I followed the recipe except I did add some dried sage & I used skim milk and then thickened the sauce with cornstarch. Next time I think I will reduce the amount of brown sugar to make the sweetness a little more subtle & add a bit more pepper, but otherwise we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States