Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a very good recipe, it reminded me of a soup my grandfather used to make, only without the sugar. The great part about it is, you can adjust the sweetness without destroying the taste. Also, I browned my hamburger first and drained most of the grease from it before adding it to the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Yum! I did the 1/4 cup white vinegar, doubled the diced tomatoes and did the brown sugar switch someone suggested and I love it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is an excellent soup! I use absolutely no sugar, it's not needed (did it once and ruined the soup). I also cook the beef first and strain the grease out. I've probably made this 10 times, and don't plan on stopping any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have made this with meat and without, and both versions work wonderfully! I make this all in one step and add all of the ingredients at one time. I took others' suggestions and doubled the vinegar while halving the sugar, and I also added dill and cut up potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I used ground pork, and used a little more sugar than it says, I left out the pepper sauce. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent soup. As I don't eat sugar, and because I didn't have everything to hand, I modified the recipe to use 1 lb ground beef, two cans of diced tomatoes (one was fire roasted with green chile peppers), one tbsp of Better Than Bouillon beef flavor, and half a bag of a coleslaw kit (just the veggies). After browning the beef and sauteing the onions, I cooked it in my pressure cooker (high) for 10-12 minutes. Came out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Everyone loved this, it was a great meal for a windy rainy night. I did halve the sugar and increase the vinegar, used extra lean beef, Better Than Bouillon in place of cubes (better flavor imo) and a very small cabbage which was sliced instead of wedged. I really loved the quick prep for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was a good soup. I used half the amount of sugar and doubled the tomato sauce. It had a great flavor, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Excellent Hearty Soup!! Our family and friends love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Awesome recipe! The only changes I've made are using ground turkey instead of beef, and as others have said, 1-2 Tbsp more vinegar and only half the sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States