Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
my family, church , and friends love this recipe!! i have made it exactly as it is and it was great. I like many others usually add my own twist. I love the health benefits of wild game, i make this with venison. I use to quart jars of fresh canned tomatoes from our garden, 1/4 cup of white vinegar,I also put 2 cubes of Knorr smoked jalapeno cubes in it with 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I like some spice to the sweet.Now no event is good without it, if I show up without it I get fussed at. wonderful!!!!! I know some of you will fuss because I changed it but even without my changes its awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband asked me to make him cabbage soup (which I have never made or tasted), so made him this recipe. He thought it was excellent. I followed others' suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup (might reduce it further next time) and added a little more vinegar, and a bit of siracha for some heat. Next time I will add another can of tomatoes. I will no doubt be making this for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This soup is one that is easy to put together. I made it as submitted. I used shredded bagged carrots and a savoy cabbage. One could start off with less sugar and add to get to their desired taste. If you keep it in the fridge till the next day you can take off the fat. Thank you for the recipe. A savory bread might be a nice addition to the sweet soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this tonight and we loved it! I added one extra beef bouillon cube, one extra can of diced tomatoes, used apple cider vinegar instead of white, used brown sugar instead of white, and used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. It was so good and exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Since hubby and I don't do sugar, I just left that ingredient out. Instead of beef bouillon cubes and water, I used vegetable broth (2quarts). Also, instead of ground beef, I used vegetable crumbles (you can find them in the frozen food aisles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my favourite soup. I have to have it every day. Instead of sugar, I use a couple spoons of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I do want to know if anyone has made it with the ground beef browned and drained first so you can cut out that fat.. If anyone did, how was the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I will surely be making this again. Delicious and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I have made it twice now and my husband loves it. I used two cans of diced tomatoes and no tomato sauce because I didn't have any. The first time I had some leftover spaghetti sauce and I used that instead of tomato sauce. Wow,did it taste good! I also used Jimmy Dean all natural sausage instead of ground beef and I left out the sugar. The sausage added some sweet spiciness that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States