Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by tingieting
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Don't often review but I love this recipe. Made some modifications, such as halving the sugar, extra boullion cube, doubled tone diced tomato, used red cabbage (rather than green), used ox tail and stew meat (rather than ground beef), added potatoes (great for making the soup a tad more starchy). I actually use more water than most users suggest and over time just keep adding water, a dash of vinegar, some diced tomatoes, and just keep reusing the soup base until I don't have much meat left. I also typically have a cup of rice on the side to go with it and it's a great meal. Really easy to make and leftovers are always welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Not sure how to rate cause i made a lot of changes..i added half a green pepper, chopped. I used double tomato sauce, and about 3 cups of water, instead of 4. I was afraid of it ending up too sweet or tart, so i added only 2 teasp cider vinegar and 3 tablespoons brown sugar. With these changes, it turned out pretty great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I used sweet Italian sausage instead and I used brown sugar and cut it in half. With a good hard bread on the side, you can't beat this meal. I love making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! This is my go to cabbage soup recipe. Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made exactly as the recipe stated but my husband, kids and I just did NOT like it. Too sweet and too sour. I wish I would have left out the sugar and vinegar and added some other seasonings and it would have been great. Sorry poster, just want to be honest. Seems that a LOT of other people liked it though :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I did as many and cut the sugar in half. I also added some cayenne and red pepper flakes(it's a compulsion), and a bit of extra vinegar. And I used all beef broth for liquid. Yummy and filling and a nice addition to our soup repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is not a good recipe,way to sweet and leaves a bitter after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I just made this and ate the first bowl, and everything was really good except the amount of sugar. It was way too sweet. I think 1/4 cup should suffice. And maybe a little extra vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is so good! Made it tonight because I love soup when the weather is really cold. Comfort food without all the fat and calories. This is going to be one of my staple no-fail favorites. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Aside from being sweet, I could find no other flavor in this soup. I'm very confused about what I just ate. I love flavor, so maybe it is just not my cup of tea. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States