Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I made exactly as the recipe stated but my husband, kids and I just did NOT like it. Too sweet and too sour. I wish I would have left out the sugar and vinegar and added some other seasonings and it would have been great. Sorry poster, just want to be honest. Seems that a LOT of other people liked it though :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I did as many and cut the sugar in half. I also added some cayenne and red pepper flakes(it's a compulsion), and a bit of extra vinegar. And I used all beef broth for liquid. Yummy and filling and a nice addition to our soup repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is not a good recipe,way to sweet and leaves a bitter after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I just made this and ate the first bowl, and everything was really good except the amount of sugar. It was way too sweet. I think 1/4 cup should suffice. And maybe a little extra vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is so good! Made it tonight because I love soup when the weather is really cold. Comfort food without all the fat and calories. This is going to be one of my staple no-fail favorites. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Aside from being sweet, I could find no other flavor in this soup. I'm very confused about what I just ate. I love flavor, so maybe it is just not my cup of tea. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We have been trying to find a recipe to approximate the Russian Cabbage Soup at a favorite restaurant. This one pleased us and it was yummy! My husband thought it was better than the restaurant's. My only changes were that I used beef stew meat and a quarter cup of Splenda instead of the sugar. I also added the garlic earlier with the veggies. I thin-sliced the cabbage after quartering it too. I will most definitely make this recipe again. Was really tasty on a cool fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
If you add rice it's like piggies in the blanket in soup form- and alot easier to make, thank you for this great recipe! Tip: be sure to use a good bsalmic vinegar ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I love this soup, but because I'm making soup at a community soup kitchen and some of my people are diabetic I had to make a change. I swapped the 1/2 cup of sugar for a couple cans of beets, it was also quite tasty! In fact my hubby likes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! Made it exactly as written except the second time, I added equal parts sugar and vinegar (1/2 Cup each). This will be one of my regular dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Adams Katchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States