Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Perfect! This is the recipe I have been searching for and salivating over since I had the sweet and sour cabbage soup from Ella's Deli in Madison Wisconsin 13 years ago! Had my inlaws over for dinner tonight and my FIL had 5 big bowls of this stuff! Said it reminded him of his mom's soup from Siberia!!! Darn, now there will be less for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Not only is this soup delicious, but it's even more healthy than it seems! This recipe actually makes SIX two-cup servings that by my calculations clock in at 253 calories each--the only changes I made being the reduction in sugar by half and using 97% ground beef (didn't even drain it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
It was ok, but not bursting with tang and flavor as some reviews suggested, even though I upped the vinegar and used less sugar. A nice use of cabbage but I dont know if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Used brown sugar like others had recommended but I think it turned out a little too sweet for me. Substituted a can rotel for the canned tomatoes to spice it up. Also added a coupole extra tablespoons of vinegar per suggestions. after modifications this turned out pretty good, I will use less sugar next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I did not like this soup at all. I may have liked it minus the sugar & vinegar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My update: Had leftovers in the freezer and just ate a bowl for lunch. Wow -- so good. original review: This is great soup. Full of flavor. Delicious. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but didn't veer far. Just minor changes based on what I had on hand. Added a little thyme and marjoram. I did dice a large sweet potato and added it with the cabbage. After reading that some people found it too sweet, I started with about 1/8 of a cup of sugar. I ended up using almost 1/2 cup. My soup was not sweet. The sugar and vinegar just brightened the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This soup was really delicious. We follow a South Beach diet life style, so we used one quarter cup Splenda and omitted the carrots to make it phase 1. Also added extra boullion cube,one quarter cup vinegar, some cayenne and some tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very tasty with a few adjustments. Found it too sweet, reduced sugar to 1/8 cup and added 1 Tbsp A-1 for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I can't believe this recipe got such rave reviews! I followed the directions aside from reducing the sugar to 1/3 cup and it was still so sweet I couldn't stand it. Nobody in my family liked it aside from my husband and he'll eat anything. I suppose it's my mistake since "sweet" is in the title, but be prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I added less sugar. I think 1/4 cup would be sweet enough. Depends on how much water you add though. My version had less water and added chicken broth and chicken instead of the bouillon cubes and ground beef. My next attempt will be a sausage version. Scrumptious! I LOVE this recipe and have recommended it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States