Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Ground beef is just not good in a soup. The flavor was rather bland to me and I always ended up adding lots of extras to make this soup more palatable. I think the soup might work if stew meat or chicken was used instead of ground beef, also my guess is stock would be a lot better than bouillon. I don't know why this is so highly rated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My Russian friend makes this soup, but with chicken. When she didn't have tomatoe sauce she used katchup and didn't put sugar in it. Sooo good! And like like another rater said, you crave it after you finish just a bit. I don't think she put bulion in hers, but then again, she did cook the chicken in it. I am going to try the recipe myself and will update my review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! The changes I make to it are I brown the hamburg meat before adding, Add 1-2 more cloves of garlic, you can't taste the garlic trust me. I also use apple cider vinegar, which I think gives it a better taste. I use a little more vinegar than called for, I just keep adding tablespoons until I like the taste, usually about 4 tblsp. I use chicken bouillon instead of beef. Also with the cabbage I just chop it up into small pieces, this makes a big difference. Especially if you have young children like me, it is way easier to eat this way. My family just goes crazy over this recipe.Pair it will some crusty bread and you will just be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have been eating this soup for 6 months at least. The only thing I have changed in all that time is less sugar since the reason I picked up this recipe was to find a good fat burner. Not only is it delicious but also good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe was much better than expected. I'm wasn't a big cabbage eater but this soup is delicious and very interesting to eat and I kept finding myself going back for more. I had a few others try it and the loved it and I passed the recipe along. Already looking forward to the next time I fix it. This dish will be a regular meal for me and my family. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
need to do it with green cabbage next time.. red was the wrong choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Doubled this recipe at the cafeteria where I work and I ran out! They loved it! told me to be sure to keep the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Platte Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Columbus, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Love this soup! I used to make cabbage soup for the famous diet. This is much better! I followed some suggestions and used brown sugar, a little extra vinegar. I added 1 cup of red wine and a little crushed red pepper. I used 1/3 sausage and 2/3 ground beef. I LOVE THIS SOUP! I make a cabbage soup with beans and ground beef that we like, so I might try adding a few kidney beans next time. But maybe not, since this is the best cabbage soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Perfect! This is the recipe I have been searching for and salivating over since I had the sweet and sour cabbage soup from Ella's Deli in Madison Wisconsin 13 years ago! Had my inlaws over for dinner tonight and my FIL had 5 big bowls of this stuff! Said it reminded him of his mom's soup from Siberia!!! Darn, now there will be less for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Not only is this soup delicious, but it's even more healthy than it seems! This recipe actually makes SIX two-cup servings that by my calculations clock in at 253 calories each--the only changes I made being the reduction in sugar by half and using 97% ground beef (didn't even drain it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States