Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Just fantastic. I browned the ground beef and onion before adding other ingredients. Adjusted the sweet sour to 1/4 c vinegar and 1/4 c brown sugar. Next time I'll sub a can of tomato soup for the 8 oz of tomato sauce which will give it a little more oomph. Also threw in 1 can of beef broth for good measure. Added some instant brown rice at the end (not my fav, but holds up really well in the soup)which was a great complement. The flavor was fantastic -- this is the def of comfort food. Immediately a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Delicious! Very hearty, sweet and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Yum! I was very impressed with the outcome, of this recipe. It smelled so good and tasted even better. Next time I will more diligently crumble the beef, and simmer a little longer. I used beef stock (vs.water) and a couple of cubes, also a little extra vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is pretty good stuff! Make sure you have big pot or make the serving sizes smaller. Our largest pot didn't quite cut it. It was overflowing by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I've been searching for a recipe like this for years! There was a diner my family and I ate at that would serve a similar soup on Wednesday nights. This tasted great and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Ground beef is just not good in a soup. The flavor was rather bland to me and I always ended up adding lots of extras to make this soup more palatable. I think the soup might work if stew meat or chicken was used instead of ground beef, also my guess is stock would be a lot better than bouillon. I don't know why this is so highly rated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
My Russian friend makes this soup, but with chicken. When she didn't have tomatoe sauce she used katchup and didn't put sugar in it. Sooo good! And like like another rater said, you crave it after you finish just a bit. I don't think she put bulion in hers, but then again, she did cook the chicken in it. I am going to try the recipe myself and will update my review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! The changes I make to it are I brown the hamburg meat before adding, Add 1-2 more cloves of garlic, you can't taste the garlic trust me. I also use apple cider vinegar, which I think gives it a better taste. I use a little more vinegar than called for, I just keep adding tablespoons until I like the taste, usually about 4 tblsp. I use chicken bouillon instead of beef. Also with the cabbage I just chop it up into small pieces, this makes a big difference. Especially if you have young children like me, it is way easier to eat this way. My family just goes crazy over this recipe. My husband will sometimes add cayenne to his bowl of soup for some kick. Pair it will some crusty bread and you will just be in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have been eating this soup for 6 months at least. The only thing I have changed in all that time is less sugar since the reason I picked up this recipe was to find a good fat burner. Not only is it delicious but also good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States