Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMG this is one of the best soups I have ever made! It had just the right amount of sweetness to it. And since I am vegan/vegetarian, I used Boca "meat" crumbles, and vegetable broth in place of beef boullion and water. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Could not believe how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I have this going in the crock pot right now (halved the recipe). I tried a small cup of it and it's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love this! The only thing I changed was instead of the white sugar, I used 1/4 of brown sugar (loosely measured) and one extra clove of garlic. I also browned the meat and rinsed it before I added it into the soup. I am tasting it now before dinner and I think I might eat too much! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It was good. We prebrowned the beef and it was still good. You should chop the cabbage up a little smaller than the 4 wedges. We had huge cabbage leaves in our mouthes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Great recipie! I was going to make my mom's cabbage soup but wanted to jazz it up some so I looked and this seemed perfect. I looked at the reviews and took sum suggestions I added what was a total of 7 (yes seven) boullion cubes (I like my food flavorful!!) used green onion instead reduced brown sugar to little less than 1/4c and 1/4c of white vinegar maybe next time will only use the 2 tblsp. also used very small amount of the salt (because of the 7 boullion cubes)I also left out the tomato sauce due to my husbands diet. overall really good served with warm buttery sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This soup was awesome. I changed a few things due to what I had on hand. I used 1 packet of onion soup mix instead of beef broth, 1/2 of prepared, jarred pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce, added a little bit of garlic powder and canned chopped beets and used less sugar than the recipe called for. This made way more than 4 servings too. Wicked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Add a can of sliced beets with juice and its a boresh soup! Very tasty with a small scoop of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have made this two ways, one with 1lb ground round beef and 1lb sausage and one with about 2 lbs of original style sausage from a local meat market named Hoffman's meats. Both ways are good, but I think the beef helps bulk the flavor up more than just sausage. Also just used a jar of not-too-chunky spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce since I didn't have any. I also add a few cubed waxy potatoes sometimes. I start with 1/4 Cup sugar and taste from there to see how sweet I want it. And I use apple cider vinegar instead of white, I think it's a nice flavor. It was delish. As the cabbage began to dissappear I added swiss chard to it to bulk it up. I also made the broth from water I had cooked the swiss chard in, instead of plain water which made it even more hearty. I have added cooked cork screw noodles toward the end as well to keep stretching it and it's as tasty as ever. Don't forget to salt your pasta water for your noodles or they'll make the soup seem bland, and over cook them just a touch so they don't suck up too much broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good. I like adding 1 lb of hamburger and 1 lb of pork. I can't stop eating this once I make it. Either way I like to add at least 2 lb of meat. I thought original was a little short for my taste as a meat lover. Plus I felt funny chopping two frozen Costco hamburger patties to get it to the 1.5 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States