Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I love this! The only thing I changed was instead of the white sugar, I used 1/4 of brown sugar (loosely measured) and one extra clove of garlic. I also browned the meat and rinsed it before I added it into the soup. I am tasting it now before dinner and I think I might eat too much! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
It was good. We prebrowned the beef and it was still good. You should chop the cabbage up a little smaller than the 4 wedges. We had huge cabbage leaves in our mouthes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Great recipie! I was going to make my mom's cabbage soup but wanted to jazz it up some so I looked and this seemed perfect. I looked at the reviews and took sum suggestions I added what was a total of 7 (yes seven) boullion cubes (I like my food flavorful!!) used green onion instead reduced brown sugar to little less than 1/4c and 1/4c of white vinegar maybe next time will only use the 2 tblsp. also used very small amount of the salt (because of the 7 boullion cubes)I also left out the tomato sauce due to my husbands diet. overall really good served with warm buttery sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This soup was awesome. I changed a few things due to what I had on hand. I used 1 packet of onion soup mix instead of beef broth, 1/2 of prepared, jarred pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce, added a little bit of garlic powder and canned chopped beets and used less sugar than the recipe called for. This made way more than 4 servings too. Wicked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Add a can of sliced beets with juice and its a boresh soup! Very tasty with a small scoop of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have made this two ways, one with 1lb ground round beef and 1lb sausage and one with about 2 lbs of original style sausage from a local meat market named Hoffman's meats. Both ways are good, but I think the beef helps bulk the flavor up more than just sausage. Also just used a jar of not-too-chunky spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce since I didn't have any. I also add a few cubed waxy potatoes sometimes. I start with 1/4 Cup sugar and taste from there to see how sweet I want it. And I use apple cider vinegar instead of white, I think it's a nice flavor. It was delish. As the cabbage began to dissappear I added swiss chard to it to bulk it up. I also made the broth from water I had cooked the swiss chard in, instead of plain water which made it even more hearty. I have added cooked cork screw noodles toward the end as well to keep stretching it and it's as tasty as ever. Don't forget to salt your pasta water for your noodles or they'll make the soup seem bland, and over cook them just a touch so they don't suck up too much broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Very good. I like adding 1 lb of hamburger and 1 lb of pork. I can't stop eating this once I make it. Either way I like to add at least 2 lb of meat. I thought original was a little short for my taste as a meat lover. Plus I felt funny chopping two frozen Costco hamburger patties to get it to the 1.5 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
OMG I have been looking for this recipe for 30 yrs! A high school friend made it one day and it reminded me of my mother's stuffed cabbage except in soup form. (and who swaps recipes in High School lol) The only thing different is she made very tiny meatballs instead of just adding the ground beef. I took the ground beef, added an egg and some dry bread crumbs mixed together and rolled them into tiny balls little smaller than a walnut and just dropped into the simmering soup. I follow the others suggestions and cut the sugar in half. I think next time I will also chop or shred the cabbage smaller, just a personal taste. Thank you Ron for finally ending my search. I will be making this soup again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This soup was authentic, delicious and I did not change a thing. Thanks for a great Russian recipe Ron :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I ate this soup all week long...Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States