Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Absolutely Fabulous! I have a bumper cabbage crop this year and was exploring my options when I ran across this offering. Here are my revisions: I cut the sugar in half as recommended by others, two cans of diced tomatoes as 1 other reviewer recommended, about a pint less water, a pinch more salt and pepper and one additional beef bouillon cube. I also added a few extra veggies, cleaning out the fridge of all the little extra bits and pieces. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. Followed other reviewer's suggestions and added 1/4 cup white vinegar for extra tang, used brown sugar instead of white, added 1 extra bouillon cube, and instead of adding another can of diced tomatoes as some suggested, added a few fresh diced tomatoes from the garden as well as the called for canned tomato sauce and canned diced tomatoes. I had to cook the cabbage longer than 25 minutes before it was tender - more like 35 min. Otherwise, I would not change this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was just delicious. I used ground pork sausage instead of ground beef and that added a lot of flavor. We liked the sweetness, but I think I would cut the sugar back just a little bit. A delicious and hearty stew that tastes good and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and decreased sugar (used unrefined brown sugar)to 1/4 cup; increased the vinegar to 1/4 cup; added some cayenne pepper for heat; browned the ground beef and drained fat before adding the other ingredients. The soup was very satisfying. Hey, it's cheap, easy, goes a long way, and tastes good. What more could you ask for? Update 7/08: Made this using 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup white wine vinegar (that's what I had), and the soup was way too sweet with a weird flavor. I highly recommend sticking with white vinegar and sparingly using an unrefined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
When a bunch of kids like it - you know it's good! Took some of the other suggestions and added 2 cans of diced tomatoes (instead of 1 can) and changed to white sugar to brown with equal ratios - 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, chopped the cabbage and added 1/2 cup instant rice last 25 minutes. And, used a combo of ground beef and sausage (meat loaf mix). Add a loaf of crusty warm bread and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a great soup. Easy, yummy and freezes well. I use Lipton onion soup instead of beef bouillon and onion to speed up the prep time without loosing any flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! Nobody could get enough of it. I used Splenda instead of sugar but don't make any other changes. It is great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
After placing the meat in the skillet to brown (1st step), I began to question if browning was indeed part of the directions. Upon rereading; It isn't. I see from the reviews, some people chose to brown anyway. A little too late in preparation for me to change, I just carried on. At first taste I found my error to have no negative effect because the resulting soup was delicious. I tend to prefer savory/salty rather than sweet so I took advice from a few reviewers and upped the vinegar and trimmed the sugar. It was interesting to taste the the effect the added vinegar made. I now understand what many reviewers mean by the tang. A whole head of cabbage was a little much. I will cut this amount if I have another go. I added a small amount of fresh spinach in the last 10 minutes. Might as well get some extra nutrients the easy way. This soup is a great example of how a few personalized changes do not deter a simple, solid recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
FANTASTIC! I cut the sugar in half, and added more vinegar than was called for to suit our tastes. It tasted like stuffed cabbage without all the work. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was AMAZING!!! We had it earlier today and I'm already craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States