Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Absolutely Fabulous! I have a bumper cabbage crop this year and was exploring my options when I ran across this offering. Here are my revisions: I cut the sugar in half as recommended by others, two cans of diced tomatoes as 1 other reviewer recommended, about a pint less water, a pinch more salt and pepper and one additional beef bouillon cube. I also added a few extra veggies, cleaning out the fridge of all the little extra bits and pieces. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. Followed other reviewer's suggestions and added 1/4 cup white vinegar for extra tang, used brown sugar instead of white, added 1 extra bouillon cube, and instead of adding another can of diced tomatoes as some suggested, added a few fresh diced tomatoes from the garden as well as the called for canned tomato sauce and canned diced tomatoes. I had to cook the cabbage longer than 25 minutes before it was tender - more like 35 min. Otherwise, I would not change this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam Ready

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was just delicious. I used ground pork sausage instead of ground beef and that added a lot of flavor. We liked the sweetness, but I think I would cut the sugar back just a little bit. A delicious and hearty stew that tastes good and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and decreased sugar (used unrefined brown sugar)to 1/4 cup; increased the vinegar to 1/4 cup; added some cayenne pepper for heat; browned the ground beef and drained fat before adding the other ingredients. The soup was very satisfying. Hey, it's cheap, easy, goes a long way, and tastes good. What more could you ask for? Update 7/08: Made this using 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup white wine vinegar (that's what I had), and the soup was way too sweet with a weird flavor. I highly recommend sticking with white vinegar and sparingly using an unrefined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
When a bunch of kids like it - you know it's good! Took some of the other suggestions and added 2 cans of diced tomatoes (instead of 1 can) and changed to white sugar to brown with equal ratios - 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, chopped the cabbage and added 1/2 cup instant rice last 25 minutes. And, used a combo of ground beef and sausage (meat loaf mix). Add a loaf of crusty warm bread and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a great soup. Easy, yummy and freezes well. I use Lipton onion soup instead of beef bouillon and onion to speed up the prep time without loosing any flavor. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! Nobody could get enough of it. I used Splenda instead of sugar but don't make any other changes. It is great as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
After placing the meat in the skillet to brown (1st step), I began to question if browning was indeed part of the directions. Upon rereading; It isn't. I see from the reviews, some people chose to brown anyway. A little too late in preparation for me to change, I just carried on. At first taste I found my error to have no negative effect because the resulting soup was delicious. I tend to prefer savory/salty rather than sweet so I took advice from a few reviewers and upped the vinegar and trimmed the sugar. It was interesting to taste the the effect the added vinegar made. I now understand what many reviewers mean by the tang. A whole head of cabbage was a little much. I will cut this amount if I have another go. I added a small amount of fresh spinach in the last 10 minutes. Might as well get some extra nutrients the easy way. This soup is a great example of how a few personalized changes do not deter a simple, solid recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
FANTASTIC! I cut the sugar in half, and added more vinegar than was called for to suit our tastes. It tasted like stuffed cabbage without all the work. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was AMAZING!!! We had it earlier today and I'm already craving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States