Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was the soup I've been looking for! I did cut the sugar, add more vinegar and tomatoes, but other than that made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have made this soup several times and it's one of my husband's favorites. I increased vinegar by 1 tablespoon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is now a family favorite. It warmed my whole family up on this cold winter day. I made a few changes, but this recipe is a great place to start from. My DH is allergic to garlic and onions so I left those out. I used 1/4 cup white vinegar and 1/4 of light brown sugar instead of the white. I also added 1/4 of Merlot. Next time I would cut the cabbage into smaller wedges. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
It's not Goldie's but it is close! My husband worked with an older woman when he was young that use to bring him in cabbage soup he loved. I have tried my reciepes and this is the closest I have found. The whole family loves it. I make it in the morning and heat and serve it in the evening as we discovered we like it even more after it has set and been reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I really didn't like this one, much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Fantastic!! I changed nothing and was pleased to find the final dish tasted EXACTLY like the Cabbage soup from Izzy's, a local Jewish Deli. I can think of NOTHING that could possibly improve this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Absolutely love this soup! Like other reviewers suggested I used 1/4 cup vinegar, brown sugar instead of white, an extra can of diced tomatoes and 1 extra bouillon cube. I didnt have tomato sauce so I used a can of tomato soup instead and the soup tastes amazing. The only thing I find is that a whole head of cabbage is too much so I would only use about 1/2 a head next time unless I can find a really small head of cabbage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
After placing the meat in the skillet to brown (1st step), I began to question if browning was indeed part of the directions. Upon rereading; It isn't. I see from the reviews, some people chose to brown anyway. A little too late in preparation for me to change, I just carried on. At first taste I found my error to have no negative effect because the resulting soup was delicious. I tend to prefer savory/salty rather than sweet so I took advice from a few reviewers and upped the vinegar and trimmed the sugar. It was interesting to taste the the effect the added vinegar made. I now understand what many reviewers mean by the tang. A whole head of cabbage was a little much. I will cut this amount if I have another go. I added a small amount of fresh spinach in the last 10 minutes. Might as well get some extra nutrients the easy way. This soup is a great example of how a few personalized changes do not deter a simple, solid recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great soup. I cooked the meat first and used ground Italian sausage. I also used 1/4 cup cider vinegar and 1/4 cup sugar. Otherwise I kept to the recipe. I make this all winter long and my family loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I added about three times the amount of vinegar because I like it quite tangy. Was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States