Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I have made this soup four times now and it is a huge hit. Each time I make it I have slightly varied the ingredients, I use pork pan sausage because we butchered hogs and I have so much ground pork. I use lots of garlic and onions and cabbage, and some potatoes, carrots, celery and chicken bullion. The key is the vinegar and the sugar to give this soup that saurkraut taste. I have also made a batch with caroway seeds added but they look a bit much like insects so I would reserve that for family members who are aware. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaupon Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Delicious! I added more beef bouillon cubes and fresh tomatoes. Next time I want to try italian sausage instead of ground beef. Great soup! Tried it with italian sausage, won't go back. This soup is even better with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeyburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I think this recipe is awesome! I am always looking for recipes that include cabbage. I did reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup as suggested by some reviews. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoagieswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good... We aren't huge meat eaters, so I only added a lb of pork sausage. Also, I messed up on the amount of sugar (put too much in), so I added some water, threw in some more veges, and added more onions. It smells delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was very good. I followed others advice by adding 2 cans of diced tomatoes, 1/4 cup of white vinegar and 1/4 brown sugar. I also added 3 stalks of celery, oregano, pepper flakes and about 8 oz of tomato juice. I started the recipe directions until after the first boil. I then through everything into a crock pot (had to leave for awhile) and let that cook on low for 4 hours. I then added the cabbage (2/3 of big head) and the remaining water, 2 cups of cooked rice and cooked on high for 1 hour. It was great, crunchy cabbage, veggies were done. Next time I will add tomato juice instead of water. I like the tomatoey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtshearer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This soup is absolutely wonderful. I had way too much cabbage on hand, and to be honest I'm not a huge fan, but this soup changed all that. I put all the veggies in the food processor to make it easier to chop. I also put brown/white rice on the bottom of the bowl and ladled the soup on top- beautiful. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My son and I really loved this soup. It is definitely one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
delicious soup.. halupki as a soup; like others used about a pint less water and cleaned out some veggies from the fridge...added a dollop of dijon while cooking a little longer and lower heat...GREAT RECEIPE five stars as we don't have six
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuldaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
It was very good. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
We used .25 c. sugar & .25 c. vinegar like the previous reviewers recommended. It was good. It was actually still a little sweet for my taste. I will probably use less sugar next time I make this. I will be making it again. Good with some crusty bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States