Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I kinda liked this but it was just a bit to sweet for me . My wife didnt like it at all, she said next time to leave out the sugar and it would be a lot better. Maybe next time I'll try using half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This recipe was amazing. Only change was 1tbsp more vinegar. Next time I make it I may add a bit less sugar but that's it. Thanks for a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This recipe has a nice, simple flavor and I like that it seems healthy. My husband absolutely loved it. It was a little sweet for me, so I added some chile paste to mine for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
ok but not great. cheap and easy but without changes... wouldn't make again even though there are tons of cabbages around now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great recipe ! Didn't change too much except a little more vinegar. I've made this several times and my grandpa would be proud. He was from Lithuania and made a cabbage soup similar to this. He used to serve it with a boiled potato and sometimes a slice of rye bread with butter. A whole meal in itself especially in cold, nasty winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was the soup I've been looking for! I did cut the sugar, add more vinegar and tomatoes, but other than that made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have made this soup several times and it's one of my husband's favorites. I increased vinegar by 1 tablespoon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is now a family favorite. It warmed my whole family up on this cold winter day. I made a few changes, but this recipe is a great place to start from. My DH is allergic to garlic and onions so I left those out. I used 1/4 cup white vinegar and 1/4 of light brown sugar instead of the white. I also added 1/4 of Merlot. Next time I would cut the cabbage into smaller wedges. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
It's not Goldie's but it is close! My husband worked with an older woman when he was young that use to bring him in cabbage soup he loved. I have tried my reciepes and this is the closest I have found. The whole family loves it. I make it in the morning and heat and serve it in the evening as we discovered we like it even more after it has set and been reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I really didn't like this one, much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States