Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is the best cabbage soup recipe I have ever tried. I made it just like the recipe said and it was fantastic. I will make this one many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I was craving cabbage and tomato and found this. I only had a 1/2 head of cabbage so I cubed 3 potatoes and added a can of corn. It was great I think the vinegar and sugar really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Made this way based on reviews: 1lb lean gr beef, 5 cubes beef buillon, 1/4 cup white vinegar, 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of white) and I used 1 qt plus 1 pt water, and only 1/2 tsp salt. Everything else was as written. That said, this was a fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Wonderful, interesting flavor! This easy-to-make, full-bodied soup became an instant favorite. Followed recommended changes from other reviewers: 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of one; 5 tsps. beef Better than Bouillon instead of 4 cubes regular bouillon; 1/4 cup white vinegar instead of 2 tbls.; reduce 1/2 cup white sugar to 1/4 cup; and add 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also chopped cabbage into 1 inch pieces instead of wedges. I used an 8-qt pot as this definitely makes more than 4 servings which is great since everybody clamored for seconds. This soup recipe is a 5 star keeper! Thanks Ron and all of you reviewers before me who shared their ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I cooked this as the recipe stated. Different from the normal american style soups but very good. Taste wise I would change nothing however the next time I fix this I will probably shred or chop the cabbage. I could definitely see this being a good recipe for someone wanting to eat healthy or diet by browning then draining the beef or by using ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is quite possibly one of the best soups ever! So easy and tasty too! I used ground pork sausage. One bowl is just not enough. Excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I forgot to rate it when I made it but I remember it being awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a very good recipe, it reminded me of a soup my grandfather used to make, only without the sugar. The great part about it is, you can adjust the sweetness without destroying the taste. Also, I browned my hamburger first and drained most of the grease from it before adding it to the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Yum! I did the 1/4 cup white vinegar, doubled the diced tomatoes and did the brown sugar switch someone suggested and I love it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is an excellent soup! I use absolutely no sugar, it's not needed (did it once and ruined the soup). I also cook the beef first and strain the grease out. I've probably made this 10 times, and don't plan on stopping any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States