Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is the best cabbage soup recipe I have ever tried. I made it just like the recipe said and it was fantastic. I will make this one many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I was craving cabbage and tomato and found this. I only had a 1/2 head of cabbage so I cubed 3 potatoes and added a can of corn. It was great I think the vinegar and sugar really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Made this way based on reviews: 1lb lean gr beef, 5 cubes beef buillon, 1/4 cup white vinegar, 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of white) and I used 1 qt plus 1 pt water, and only 1/2 tsp salt. Everything else was as written. That said, this was a fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Wonderful, interesting flavor! This easy-to-make, full-bodied soup became an instant favorite. Followed recommended changes from other reviewers: 2 cans of diced tomatoes instead of one; 5 tsps. beef Better than Bouillon instead of 4 cubes regular bouillon; 1/4 cup white vinegar instead of 2 tbls.; reduce 1/2 cup white sugar to 1/4 cup; and add 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also chopped cabbage into 1 inch pieces instead of wedges. I used an 8-qt pot as this definitely makes more than 4 servings which is great since everybody clamored for seconds. This soup recipe is a 5 star keeper! Thanks Ron and all of you reviewers before me who shared their ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I cooked this as the recipe stated. Different from the normal american style soups but very good. Taste wise I would change nothing however the next time I fix this I will probably shred or chop the cabbage. I could definitely see this being a good recipe for someone wanting to eat healthy or diet by browning then draining the beef or by using ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is quite possibly one of the best soups ever! So easy and tasty too! I used ground pork sausage. One bowl is just not enough. Excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I forgot to rate it when I made it but I remember it being awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a very good recipe, it reminded me of a soup my grandfather used to make, only without the sugar. The great part about it is, you can adjust the sweetness without destroying the taste. Also, I browned my hamburger first and drained most of the grease from it before adding it to the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Yum! I did the 1/4 cup white vinegar, doubled the diced tomatoes and did the brown sugar switch someone suggested and I love it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is an excellent soup! I use absolutely no sugar, it's not needed (did it once and ruined the soup). I also cook the beef first and strain the grease out. I've probably made this 10 times, and don't plan on stopping any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States