Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I scrambled and drained the fat from the ground beef, then added to soup. Was very tasty. My husband was pleasantly surprised. He was not excited when he heard it was for dinner, but had seconds and ate left overs for lunch next day. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwd1017

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mricha14
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I'll admit, I didn't want to like this soup. I only made it to use up a head of cabbage. It is the perfect soup to use up those last veggies or raid the pantry. In this case, I was also trying to use up some meat in the freezer as well. And, wow, was this delicious. The only variations I made was halving the sugar, threw in a couple of sweet sausages because I didn't have enough beef, and at the last minute I threw in a Pho spice packet. If you like Pho, you must try this. It gives it so much depth to the flavor and compliments the sweetness of the soup. Not only is this soup a keeper, but it is a great base to experiment with different spice/veggie/meat variations. 5 stars! (ps. the recipe says it makes 4 servings - it makes waaaay more than that! At LEAST doubled.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I used 1# hot italian sausage and 1# sweet turkey sausage. As others suggested, I decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup brown sugar, increased the vinegar to 1/4 cup, chopped the cabbage to a more manageable size and sliced the carrots. I browned the sausage and onions and used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes. I added the remaining ingredients including the garlic & cabbage, brought to a boil and simmered 45 minutes. This was unbelievable! Probably the best soup I have ever made and everyone LOVES it! Unfortunately, that meant no leftovers so I have to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I've currently got a pot of this simmering on my stove. I LOVE this recipe! Easy to follow, smells delish, and is a wonderful hearty soup for a dreary day. I have modified it slightly: I brown the beef in a TBS or so of olive oil before I add the other ingredients, and I add some caraway seeds and a good shake of celery seeds to it. DElish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Super sweet, probably why it's so good! I would cut the sugar in half next time, but might not be as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
We liked this even without sugar. The cabbage took longer to cook, though. Be sure it is cut small enough. make a big pot to freeze! Good and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was nothing like I expected but Absolutely WONDERFUL! I added the extra vinegar, as recommended. I also added some onion grass, and used 1/2 spicy Italian sausage and 1/2 meatless ground beef. The meatless ground dominated the smell at first, but did not affect the flavor negatively. It was so tasty I burned my chin trying to eat it before it was finished cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is the best cabbage soup recipe I have ever tried. I made it just like the recipe said and it was fantastic. I will make this one many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I was craving cabbage and tomato and found this. I only had a 1/2 head of cabbage so I cubed 3 potatoes and added a can of corn. It was great I think the vinegar and sugar really makes this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Made this way based on reviews: 1lb lean gr beef, 5 cubes beef buillon, 1/4 cup white vinegar, 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of white) and I used 1 qt plus 1 pt water, and only 1/2 tsp salt. Everything else was as written. That said, this was a fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States