Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I'll cut the sugar in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
my family, church , and friends love this recipe!! i have made it exactly as it is and it was great. I like many others usually add my own twist. I love the health benefits of wild game, i make this with venison. I use to quart jars of fresh canned tomatoes from our garden, 1/4 cup of white vinegar,I also put 2 cubes of Knorr smoked jalapeno cubes in it with 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I like some spice to the sweet.Now no event is good without it, if I show up without it I get fussed at. wonderful!!!!! I know some of you will fuss because I changed it but even without my changes its awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband asked me to make him cabbage soup (which I have never made or tasted), so made him this recipe. He thought it was excellent. I followed others' suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup (might reduce it further next time) and added a little more vinegar, and a bit of siracha for some heat. Next time I will add another can of tomatoes. I will no doubt be making this for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This soup is one that is easy to put together. I made it as submitted. I used shredded bagged carrots and a savoy cabbage. One could start off with less sugar and add to get to their desired taste. If you keep it in the fridge till the next day you can take off the fat. Thank you for the recipe. A savory bread might be a nice addition to the sweet soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Made this tonight and we loved it! I added one extra beef bouillon cube, one extra can of diced tomatoes, used apple cider vinegar instead of white, used brown sugar instead of white, and used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. It was so good and exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Since hubby and I don't do sugar, I just left that ingredient out. Instead of beef bouillon cubes and water, I used vegetable broth (2quarts). Also, instead of ground beef, I used vegetable crumbles (you can find them in the frozen food aisles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my favourite soup. I have to have it every day. Instead of sugar, I use a couple spoons of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I do want to know if anyone has made it with the ground beef browned and drained first so you can cut out that fat.. If anyone did, how was the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I will surely be making this again. Delicious and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States