Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! Made it exactly as written except the second time, I added equal parts sugar and vinegar (1/2 Cup each). This will be one of my regular dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Adams Katchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This recipe was so tasty! I can't wait to make it again. It was perfect for my husband, but I plan on putting a little less sugar in it for next time. Other than that, and that is just a personal thing, it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kisabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I cut down on the sugar, cooked it a little longer, and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
absolutely love this. Cooked it longer all the way around about an hr. and even my 3 year ate some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My daughter found this recipe first and we cooked it together exactly as written. I have now used the recipe about four/five times and, of course, made some changes (that's the reason for the four stars). Use four cups of beef stock (preferrably homemade or beef concentrate base to four cups of water), very finely sliced carrots instead of shredded and add onions, carrots and garlic to saute with beef. We don't care to struggle with wedges of cabbage so coarsely chopped itinto bitesize pieces. And replaced the salt and pepper with 1 teaspoon of homemade seasoned salt. I don't have a pot large enough to accommodate that second quart of water and thought it made the soup too watery. You can always add more water to taste when reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This recipe has become a staple of my home. I always have it either in my fridge or my freezer. I have tried others comments on adjusting the sugar/vinegar and/or adding tomatoes/rice...and it doesn't matter what you do, this recipe tastes great!! I personally substitute Splenda for sugar and ground Turkey for the ground beef. So good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Awesome soup for a picky pregnant woman. I made it with 1 pound of beef, one extra beef bullion, 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of white vinegar. I also used organic cabbage because you can taste the difference but it's a smaller head. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I'll cut the sugar in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
my family, church , and friends love this recipe!! i have made it exactly as it is and it was great. I like many others usually add my own twist. I love the health benefits of wild game, i make this with venison. I use to quart jars of fresh canned tomatoes from our garden, 1/4 cup of white vinegar,I also put 2 cubes of Knorr smoked jalapeno cubes in it with 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I like some spice to the sweet.Now no event is good without it, if I show up without it I get fussed at. wonderful!!!!! I know some of you will fuss because I changed it but even without my changes its awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My husband asked me to make him cabbage soup (which I have never made or tasted), so made him this recipe. He thought it was excellent. I followed others' suggestions and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup (might reduce it further next time) and added a little more vinegar, and a bit of siracha for some heat. Next time I will add another can of tomatoes. I will no doubt be making this for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States