Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was very good. I followed others advice by adding 2 cans of diced tomatoes, 1/4 cup of white vinegar and 1/4 brown sugar. I also added 3 stalks of celery, oregano, pepper flakes and about 8 oz of tomato juice. I started the recipe directions until after the first boil. I then through everything into a crock pot (had to leave for awhile) and let that cook on low for 4 hours. I then added the cabbage (2/3 of big head) and the remaining water, 2 cups of cooked rice and cooked on high for 1 hour. It was great, crunchy cabbage, veggies were done. Next time I will add tomato juice instead of water. I like the tomatoey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtshearer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This soup is absolutely wonderful. I had way too much cabbage on hand, and to be honest I'm not a huge fan, but this soup changed all that. I put all the veggies in the food processor to make it easier to chop. I also put brown/white rice on the bottom of the bowl and ladled the soup on top- beautiful. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My son and I really loved this soup. It is definitely one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
delicious soup.. halupki as a soup; like others used about a pint less water and cleaned out some veggies from the fridge...added a dollop of dijon while cooking a little longer and lower heat...GREAT RECEIPE five stars as we don't have six
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuldaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
It was very good. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
We used .25 c. sugar & .25 c. vinegar like the previous reviewers recommended. It was good. It was actually still a little sweet for my taste. I will probably use less sugar next time I make this. I will be making it again. Good with some crusty bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is an awesome soup!! You won't be disappointed!! I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and brown sugar instead of white sugar..... It was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Good base recipe or a family taste well remembered just as it is. I influenced this recipe based on my own taste. Make sure you have rye bread or your favorite bread to dip and eat along side. I added a bay leaf and fresh parsley. I used chicken stock instead of water and added a pound of ground pork. Since we are not baking...just taste and work your dish off of the recipe. Also, the liquid measurements are way off. Use less and add if you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
OMG this is one of the best soups I have ever made! It had just the right amount of sweetness to it. And since I am vegan/vegetarian, I used Boca "meat" crumbles, and vegetable broth in place of beef boullion and water. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Could not believe how good this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States