Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
My husband loved this soup. I altered slightly. I used one carton of beef stock (unsalted) in place of bullion.I did not have bullion on hand. I also increased vinegar to 1/4 cup and 1/4 cup sugar. Thanks for the recipe.Have made several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is a classic Russian soup. Family prepared it with beef ribs and potatoes, made in the soup- no ground beef. The meat and potatoes ladeled into the soup bowl, topped with soup and eaten after the soup was enjoyed. Rye bread doesn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I LOVE this!! I use brown sugar instead of the white, use both beef and sausage as well. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Sims

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This soup was absolutely WONDERFUL!! I made a couple of little changes, first of all, cut WAY back on the sugar. I only used 2 TB. Second, used 3/4 head of cabbage and shredded it. Also upped the vinegar and used red wine mixed with apple cider as I ran out of the red wine vinegar. I upped it to 1/2 cup, as I like a bit of a sour twang. Leftovers were even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe! I followed the advice of other people and cut the amount of water in half, and added a second can of tomatoes, and 5 beef bullion cubes. My kids loved it, and it makes tons that I had to freeze the left overs! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I did not use butter or cream or flour. I used 2 cups almond milk to replace the cream and put half the soup in the blender to thicken it. It came out to 73 calories per cup and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just kisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Yum. This is so good! And easy. I kept it pretty close to the original recipe, subbing brown sugar and cutting it down, also. I didn't have cloves, so I used a little garlic powder. Also, I couldn't believe the calorie and fat content quoted for the original.....I sauteed up ground turkey separately from the soup and used that. I think putting the ground beef in the soup raw is a mistake. Absolutely delicious and the cabbage-hating husband even liked it! Go figure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Took the advise of others and doubled the tomatoes, used 1/4 cup vinegar and brown sugar. I also added fresh thyme and oregano because I happened to have them on hand and I really think they added to the flavor. This is a really good recipe...hubby is on his third bowl and requesting that next time I add kielbasa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Low calorie and easy! Great for those cold days and a diet. Add a little more spice and really zing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is so simple yet an excellent soup. I have made a cabbage soup for years but this is now my favorite. 1 suggestion, cut down on the sugar. That's it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States